A QUICK LUNCH FOR TWO – Chicken With Spaghetti and Caper Sauce

If I had to choose when to go out to eat, it would be lunch time. I have plenty of reasons for not wanting to be in the kitchen (my favorite place in the world to be at dinner time!) right smack in the middle of the day when I am in the throes of all sorts of activities. Whether it is the weekend or some other day when the whole family is about, I might be grocery shopping, or cleaning my house, or doing laundry, or helping with homework, or out weeding or watering the garden, or perhaps at a movie or just plain old having fun with my kids or friends….I could (and have) go on and on about what kind of spanner is thrown into the works when I have to come to a grinding halt to make lunch!

kug

Fast, Furious and Fabulous!

The worst is when I am on my holidays somewhere magnificent and we have to leave the museum or castle, or some majestic landscape to eat a midday meal. That why, when I was in Ireland for the Summer, I started taking lunch along ( like HERE and HERE to name but two great lunches on the go).

fry Capers..

Capers are such a great pantry item to have on hand. They pack loads of flavor and are great in so many dishes

So when the groan went up for lunch a few weekends ago, I sprung into action to get it over as quickly as possible. When I began to see how good it was turning out, I quickly grabbed my camera and a notebook to make sure I would remember to make this again – and I have, several times actually.

It is not only fast, it is also pretty darn good!

______________________________________

You will need:

2 tbs olive oil

2 scallions – chopped

2 cloves garlic – peeled and finely chopped

1 chicken breast – cut in half lengthways and very thinly sliced

2 tbs capers

2 tbs caper juice

1/2 cup heavy cream

salt and freshly ground pepper to taste

1/3 lb spaghetti pasta (or what you would use for two people in your household)

1/4 cup reserved hot pasta water (scooped out of pot before draining pasta water)

Method:

*Put pot of water with a good teaspoon of salt on to boil for your pasta. cook according to instructions, reserving a 1/2 cup of pasta cooking water before draining. son not rinse pasta before adding to your final dish*

1 – Put saute pan on medium heat (large enough to hold the finished dish) and add the oil. When it warms up, add the garlic and cook for about 30 seconds before adding the scallions. Cook for 2 minutes.

jyg

2 – Add the chicken and turn heat up slightly. Cook chicken for 5 minutes, stirring occasionally. Add the capers and caper juice and cook for another 3 minutes.

yg

Add chicken, then capers and caper juice

3 – Add the cream and when it comes to a simmer, cover and cook (lower the heat) for about 1 more minute. Taste and add some salt or more caper juice if you think it needs it.

jhkg

Add cream

4 – At this point your spaghetti should be cooked. Add the reserved pasta water, followed by the cooked spaghetti and toss everything together.

yg

Add the pasta water and pasta right before serving

Leave a Reply

