Warm Chocolate Muffins On A Lazy Saturday Morning (makes 12)

I told you what I had for breakfast last Saturday (Press THIS) and so I thought I would let you know what I enjoyed this morning. The theme seems to be “sweet stuff” and I make no apologies for this. It is one of the few days I have the choice to stay in bed or get up early, and after getting up at 5am 5 days a week I feel highly obligated to sleep-in on the weekend and to indulge in a morsel of something decadently sweet.

What i had with my coffeee this Saturday morning

What I had with my coffee this Saturday morning

This decadence came in the form of rich chocolate-y muffins and I am very happy to share the recipe with you so you can possibly feel the same pleasure as I did this morning when I had one with my cup of scalding hot coffee.

If you happen to be in my kitchen and feel the urge to bake a cake or make a tart or bread, I am the kind of woman who almost always has what you might need on hand. I got into this habit of keeping well-stocked in all things bakery-related when my kids were small and would ask out of the blue if we could make some kind of treat or other. To them it was just another form of playing and getting messy, but for me, if I was prepared, it could also mean having a reward at the end of this sometimes frustrating activity (have you ever made a chocolate cake with a couple of four-year-olds!).

cooling muffins

cooling muffins

So this morning at 10am when I lazily stood in the kitchen with my daughter and she suggested making “those chocolate muffins from the King Arthur cook book” I knew there would be no question that I had cocoa powder, chocolate chips and white vinegar, ingredients that can sometimes be missing from one’s pantry stockpile. The King Arthur Flour Baker’s companion is a fabulous cookbook and could be the only one you need as far as baking is concerned. It covers everything from basic breads to complex specialty cakes.

My trusty baking cookbook

My trusty baking cookbook

I found this recipe for chocolate chips muffins years ago and it is the perfect muffin as far as I’m concerned. It is deeply chocolate-y without being sweet and the consistency is dense but light at the same time. They can also be thrown together in five minutes without taxing your early morning foggy brain.

My little helper

My little helper (also enthusiastic about breakfast this morning!)

We ate these fresh from the oven and when our friend Tom popped in to say good morning, he was right in time to share in the treat (probably smelled the cooking muffins from the road as he passed!).

__________________________________________

You will need:

2/3 cups cocoa (natural or dutch-processed)

1 3/4 cups all-purpose flour (I used King Arthur’s of course)

1 1/4 cups light brown sugar

1 tsp baking powder

1 tsp baking soda

3/4 tsp salt

1 cup chocolate chips (I used large Ghirardelli bitter-sweet chips)

2 large eggs

1 cup milk

2 tsp vanilla extract

2 tsp vinegar

8 tbs unsalted butter (4 oz), melted

Method:

Preheat oven 425*

1 – Mix all the dry ingredients (first seven things on list) in a large bowl.

Mix dry ingrediets together

Mix dry ingredients together

2 – In a smaller bowl, mix together the eggs, milk, vanilla and vinegar. Stir in the melted butter.

Mix wet ingretients together, then add melted butter

Mix wet ingredients together, then add melted butter

3 – Mix the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients with a wooden spoon until barley mixed together.

mix wet to dry

mix wet to dry

4 – Divide into muffin liners/cups in muffin or bun tray and place in the oven for between 15 to 18 minutes.

Divide between muffin cups

Divide between muffin cups

Cool for a few minutes on wire rack before serving. They are also good cold.

bake, then eat!

Bake, then eat!

Leave a Reply

