Great Turkey Curry With Pineapple (serves 6)

 Inspiration for certain dishes can spring from the oddest of places. This Turkey Curry was invented because I stumbled upon a small can of pineapple chunks that got overlooked during our last big pizza night a few weeks ago. My son invited his friends over and they all made pizza, but not one of them opted for pineapple as a topping. So, while rooting around the other night for inspiration, there they were, and since I was already thinking about something spicy I thought they would act as the perfect balance of flavors!

Turkey curry with Pineapple

Turkey curry with Pineapple

I had turkey cutlets and was not in the mood for a mashed potato, gravy and turkey dinner which is another dinner my son clammers for. I decided on curry because it was easy and I knew that the strong taste of the turkey meat would hold up well against the curry powder I wanted to use. That and the pineapple, helped make this a dish I was so happy I decide to photograph and save.  (Sometimes I don’t document a meal and when it is received with wild enthusiasm and my son says, “I hope you are going to blog this!’ I always regret not making the effort).

This was a great weekend dinner!

This was a great weekend dinner!

So thankfully, here it is to make in the future and for you to make tonight (possibly!)

__________________________________________

* A note to Blood Type A Diet followers: this can be made if you are not too hung up on eating “spicy” every now and then. The rest of the ingredients are either beneficial or neutral, and if you use  a very mild curry powder, I don’t see the harm in this recipe!*

You will need:

2 or 3 tbs olive oil

sea-salt and black pepper for seasoning

2 lbs turkey breast fillets, sliced into 1/2 inch thick cutlets

1 lrg Vidalia onion, large dice

8 oz crimini mushrooms (or white button mushrooms)

2 sprigs fresh rosemary

1 cup diced pineapple

2 tbs all-purpose flour

1 tbs good quality curry powder (I used a great one mix from Kalustyan’s in NYC)

4 cups chicken/veggie broth OR 1 good quality bouillon cube (I use Rapunzel) & water

Method:

Preheat oven 400*

1 Slice meat and season lightly with sea-salt and pepper. Chop all veggies and crumble bouillon cube if using.

chop veggies

Chop veggies

2Put saute or roasting pan on high heat on stove top and add 2 tbs of oil. When it is hot sear the turkey on both sides in batches (careful not to crowd the pan) until browned. Transfer to a plate as you go. You also may need to add more oil as you go.

Brown turkey in batches

Brown turkey in batches

3 – Turn heat down to medium and add the onions and cook for about three minutes before adding the mushrooms and rosemary sprigs. Cook for another 5 minutes, stirring occasionally. Add the curry powder and crumbled bouillon (if using) to the mixture and cook for another minute, while mixing it in. Add the flour and mix well.

cook the veggies, add the curry powder and flour

Cook the veggies, add the curry powder and flour

4 – Add I cup of liquid and stir until the mixture is creamy and thick. Continue to add water a cup at a time, mixing in between each addition. Turn heat up and let everything come to a boil.

add liquid

Add liquid

5 – Return the meat to the liquid and distribute evenly. Scatter the pineapple over the top and cover pan with lid (or place foil over roasting pan). Place in oven for about 50 minutes to 1 hour. Let the curry sit for about 10 minutes before serving and taste for further seasoning.

Cook in oven

Cook in oven

I served this curry with spinach and/or basmati rice. It was amazing!

I had mine with sauteed spinach

I had mine with sautéed spinach

One response to “Great Turkey Curry With Pineapple (serves 6)

  1. Great combo!

Leave a Reply

