Hot Wings & Fries!! (serves 4)

The chicken wing has always been my favorite part of the chicken, which is why there is nothing better than a big basket of wings drenched in hot sauce for dinner. It is funny how everyone has their favorite part when it comes to chicken (“leg or breast?”). I was always a wing-man, and there is a reason for this that stems back to my dinners at home growing up.

Sometimes that's all I need

One of my cravings: crispy chicken wings with hot sauce

My mother couldn’t stand chicken but very frequently she roasted a whole chicken for dinner. Since there was six of us (kids) we had to use a system when doling out food, or when we did anything that required us to file into a place, and this system was called “ages honorable” It was a rule that was impossible to argue with. We would be served food, or stand in line according to our age, from oldest to youngest.

This meant by the time I was served dinner, I got the wing (I think it went from leg to breast to wings, followed by everything else!). I began to regard the wing as the ultimate and most prized part of the chicken. Maybe it was my way of feeling better about being gypped out of the leg. Anyway, whatever it was seemed to stick with me, and the wing is still the thing I covet.

French Fries..

great with Fries..

I was very happy when I came to the United States and made the discovery that the chicken wing had its own place on the menu, and it was sometimes all I would order for dinner.

It is hard for me to believe but I had never attempted to make “hot wings” until my son requested them (again) the other night. We had been to a restaurant with my brother who told my son he just had to try them. When he did, he couldn’t get enough and had been begging me try my hand at making them ever since. It must be in the genes!

So, I made them the other night and we all ate until there was nothing but bones left –  a very satisfying evening.

________________________________________

for wings:

3lbs whole chicken wings, cut as instructed in method (below)

2 tbs oil (olive or vegetable)

freshly ground black pepper (about 1/4 tsp)

2 tsp sea-salt

For hot sauce:

1 tbs unsalted butter

1/2 tsp madras curry powder (or whatever curry powder you have on hand)

1/4 tsp sea-salt

several grinds black pepper

2 to 3 tbs tabasco sauce

Method:

Preheat oven 400*

1 – Cut tips off of chicken wings, and cut the wing in half (cut where the drum meets the flat part – refer to picture below). Discard the tip or freeze for another use (chicken stock) and put the other parts in a big bowl. Add the seasonings and mix until everything is coated.

iuyg

Cut the chicken wings like this

2 – Place a wire rack (I used a cooling rack) in the base of a baking sheet and spread out the wing parts in a single layer.

place wings on rack

place wings on rack.

3 – Place in oven and cook until crispy (between 40 to 50 minutes. Let cool on rack before removing to a bowl and coating with the hot sauce (recipe blow))

roast

roast

Method for Hot sauce

1 – Melt the butter with the curry powder, salt and pepper.

melt butter wiht spices adn seasonings

Melt butter with spices and seasonings

2 – Add the hot sauce and stir until smooth. Keep warm until ready to mix with the cooked wings.

jyg

Add the Tabasco and mix

Eat the wings alone or with fries and some leafy greens.

Leave a Reply

