Bird’s Rant about Francois Payard And How He ruined Her “Perfect Breakfast”!!

Yesterday I received an email from my friend which made me laugh out loud. It was all about her breakfast and therefore became fodder for my blog, which is all about food, and all things relating to food (practically everything in my opinion)

My dear friend Bird (using her pseudonym here so as to avoid any mortification she might feel!) is a smart and very sweet woman with impeccable taste and  who lives in the borough of Manhattan. She is an archivist and researcher at an equally smart art gallery, as well as being a wonderful photographer. She has lived in the city for years and is quite the aficionado when it comes to where to get the best of everything the city has to offer when it comes to your stomach.

I was therefore not surprised to get an email (yesterday) relating a recent food experience, but, the tone of the email reminded me that people who are passionate about quality get really upset when things don’t live up to their expectations: case in point, Francois Payard’s new bakery, FPB on Broadway. This acclaimed pastry chef and cookbook author made her mad!

Before you read the account of her visit to his bakery I want to clarify something, for her and for me. She is one of those people  who feels as comfortable talking about a painting or poetry as she does when discussing the weather. She has a sophisticated love of the arts, but with a grounded heart of gold.

Then why would she refer to someone as “bitch girl” ? This is what she dubbed the girl at the bakery where she had breakfast on Saturday. She was being honest and frankly I found it clever and funny. My friend Bird is also not some 20-something with a loose tongue. No, she is what the writer, Patricia Cohen, of the new book In Our Prime  would refer to as in her “prime” where she contends (with the help of history, science and good old-fashioned logic) that “60 is the new 40”. This would mean that my friend is just over 40, which also suggests she has been on this earth long enough to know a bitch when she sees one.

She also puts down hip-hop music and in her defense I will also say that she was only referring to bad hip-hop. She said she would have been quite content with say someone like Ludacris.

And I quote:

This morning I took myself out to breakfast to Francois Payard bakery, which has opened a new branch near me. I had an orange flower brioche and a latte. It would have been a perfect breakfast if not for the blaring music, shit pop hip-hop coming out of the speakers, which seemed to be everywhere. I asked the bitch girl behind the counter if she would consider turning it off and she glared at me and said she couldn’t. It’s such a shame because everybody in there is over 40 and nobody wants to listen to that junk while they eat.

But, the food is lovely–I bought a pulled pork sandwich there a few weeks ago which was the best sandwich I have ever eaten. So we will have to go there and get food to TAKE OUT. It’s reasonable, even. I think I am going to write a note to Francois Payard telling him that he is ruining his new place with his bad taste in music. What’s wrong with silence, anyway?

To the question, “what’s wrong with silence?”,  my answer is “absolutely nothing”, except I will have to disagree slightly with my impassioned friend and say, when it comes to music in restaurants: I like it.
When the right music is playing (at the right volume mind you) it is something that adds to my experience. In some instances, and I’m talking about restaurants that have loud and chatty patrons, I welcome equally loud music. I find it shields people’s conversations with its blanket of sound.
Francois Payard
I will be meeting my friend Bird in a Japanese restaurant in Manhattan this coming Sunday to celebrate her “44” birthday, and, since she carefully chose the place, I’m thinking I will hear great music (if any) and not encounter any bitches.

4 responses to “Bird’s Rant about Francois Payard And How He ruined Her “Perfect Breakfast”!!

  1. Tess, it’s so strange to read this and realize you’re talking about me! I think I sound like a bitch myself, and maybe a curmudgeon too. Oh well. Maybe I am. I like the ending.  xx

    >________________________________ > From: Crappy Kitchen – Good Dinners! >To: deborah.roan@yahoo.com >Sent: Sunday, November 11, 2012 10:05 PM >Subject: [New post] Bird’s Rant about Francois Payard And How He ruined Her “Perfect Breakfast”!! > > > WordPress.com >tesskitchen1 posted: ” Yesterday I received an email from my friend which made me laugh out loud. It was all about her breakfast and therefore became fodder for my blog, which is all about food, and all things relating to food (practically everything in my opinion) My dear fr” >

  2. and i like the “bitch girl” title!

  3. Pingback: Early Morning Breakfast Moment | Crappy Kitchen – Good Dinners!

Leave a Reply

