Salmon (or other firm fish) With Onions & Spinach (serves 2 FAST!)

This is the ultimate feast as far as I’m concerned: fish, onions, spinach. It was a revelation to express so much flavor out of 3 ingredients with a minimal amount of effort on my part. The reason for this recipe was a purely selfish one. I have been cooking using guidelines for my blood type which has constantly come under fire as I also have to consider the rest of the people around the dinner table, family and friends alike.

Salmon With Onions & Spinach

Most nights I end up compromising to satisfy everyone, but the rest of the time I prepare two dinners. I know this seems crazy on the surface, but I have to confess at this time that not only is my blood type A, I also possess that “A Type” energy! Cooking several dishes at once does not really phase me, in fact I enjoy the feeling of total concentration and absorption in my little culinary tasks.

spinach

This dinner was perfect for my blood type (read Blood Type Diet Experiment at the top of my blog to learn more), and I made enough for two. Everything about this was lovely, from the sweet brothy onions, to the rich flavor of the meat. I wholeheartedly recommend this dish for everyone who wants to have fish for dinner.

______________________________________

*This is a Blood Type A Beneficial Dish*

You will need:

2 or 3 tbs extra-virgin olive oil

1 tsp ground cumin (optional)

2  6oz salmon fillets (or another firm fish that is Blood Type A beneficial – Cod, monkfish, trout, whiting, carp, red snapper)

1 large sweet onion (Vidalia), cut into 1/2 moons or very large dice

2 sprigs fresh thyme(finely chopped, including stems)

4 cups spinach leaves

1 cup veggie broth (or chicken broth, which is neutral for type A’s)

1/2 tsp coarse-sea salt (or 1/4 tsp if salt is very fine)


Method:

1 – Put large saute pan on medium/low heat and add the oil.  When the oil warms, add the onions, salt, and thyme, and saute gently for 12 minutes, stirring occasionally. While onions are cooking sprinkle cumin on both sides of the fish (if using).

saute onions

2 – Add the broth and bring to a simmer. Cover and cook for 3 or 4 minutes. Add the salmon, cover and cook for about 8 minutes.

add broth and seasonings, then fish

3 – Add the spinach and cover. Cook for a further 2 minutes (until the spinach wilts).

Add spinach

Divide between two bowls, giving each person equal portions of spinach, onions and broth.

Leave a Reply

