Simmered Spiced Tofu with Romaine Lettuce (serves 4)

Simmered Spiced Tofu with Romaine Lettuce

I have just make myself a lovely cup of coffee using my equally lovely Italian coffee pot, and have the house to myself. Everyone is in bed and it is time to write this quick post, and enjoy the night noises of the house, save for the awkward tapping of my keyboard. I have a “funny finger” you see, (a bike accident long ago that left my left index finger fixed at a permanent right angle) and so never learned how to type properly. Maybe not entirely true, as I’m sure I could have managed to make a better show of typing than I do. I like to think that writing this blog at all is amazing considering I am writing challenged, as one might say nowadays.

Late night cherries

The real truth is that I have the perfect excuse to be alone and stay up late. At this point, cooking is only part of the fun for me. I love taking the pictures and then writing down my whole experience. This blog has turned into a place I can not only document my recipes for anyone who wants them, but I also get the opportunity to lightly touch on anything else that might be on my mind.

There is not much on my mind tonight, save for salivating over the big bowl of cherries sitting on the table in front of me. They are a refreshing treat after my lovely, lightly spicy tofu dinner. Oh yes, the dinner, you have to try this one, and of course you can substitute the tofu for chicken if you must.

*This is a Blood Type A Diet dish, (even the cherries!)*

_____________________________________________

You will need:

3 tbs extra-virgin olive oil

1 lb extra firm tofu, cubed (or two chicken breast, cut into bite-sized pieces, (follow the recipe as is)

1 large sweet onion, large dice

4 cloves garlic, thinly sliced

1 1/2 tbs olek sambal paste (Indonesian crushed chili paste, can be found in most good supermarkets or ethnic shops)

1 tsp sweet paprika

1/2 tsp chile flakes (optional)

1 head romaine lettuce, washed and chopped

1 1/4 cups vegetable stock (chicken stock will do, also can used good quality bouillon cube and water)

1/2 cup chopped roasted peanuts (optional garnish)

Method:

Lately I’ve been slicing onions like this

1 – Put large saute pan on medium heat and add oil. When it has warmed, add onions and garlic and cook for about 8 minutes, stirring occasionally. Add tofu and continue to cook for another 5 minutes, stirring gently every now and then.

Saute onions & garlic, add tofu

2 – Add olek sambal, paprika and pepper flakes (if using) and stir gently.

add spices, then liquid

3 – Add broth (or water & bouillon cube) and bring liquid to a simmer. Scatter lettuce on top and cover. Simmer for 10 minutes. Turn off heat and set aside until ready to serve.


Add romaine lettuce

Divide between four shallow bowls and serve (garnish with chopped peanuts if you like). If you want to make this dish more robust, you can serve with some egg noodles or perhaps some perfume-y basmati rice.

Serve as is, or with items suggested above.

Leave a Reply

