Salmon with Perfume-y Green Beans and Escarole (serves 4)

Salmon with Perfume-y Green Beans and Escarole

All in all it was a very uneventful evening. The highlight was nothing to do with celebrating some special day or event, although at this point I have to say to someone who was not present “happy birthday Kevin!” and move on to tell you that the main attraction of the evening was the spectacular dinner. The only thing I knew for sure is that there was going to be salmon and after that it was a winging-it affair.

I pottered around in a large tin container I keep my spices in and came up with a combination I though would compliment the sweetness of the salmon. It turned out to be just that: a perfume-y sweetness that brought out the best in the veggies and fish.

Daisy Dude

Well, there was one funny thing I can relate. It is not just that the photo above is something that everyone will get all cute about. In fact, I am one of those people who detests cutie pictures of animals (especially if they are dressed up – yuck). 

Yes, I did take this picture, but the cat in it is not at all cute. Moments after taking this he scratched me on the ankle as I walked by (whilst growling). This is a cat who started hanging around about 3 or 4 years ago and we just let him stay. I admired his blatant arrogance, and general disdain for the world.

We all thought the cat was female and after going through all the flowers we know (all our cats have flower names), settled on Daisy. After about 6 months of her not leaving I decided I had better get her spayed. When I took her to the vet I found out it was in fact a neutered male, which probably accounted for the aggressive behavior, (he frequently catches bunny rabbits and eats their ears) After huge family discussions on a name change, we were all so used to the name Daisy we couldn’t see her, I mean him, as anything else: hence Daisy Dude! I have to say, it suits him to a tee, if only to soften his hard edge when we call him.

*This is a Blood Type A Diet Dish*

________________________________________

You will need:

3 tbs extra-virgin olive oil

4  6oz salmon fillets

1 large sweet onion, diced

4 cloves garlic, thinly sliced

1 head escarole, leaves separated, rinsed and roughly chopped

4 cups green beans, cut in the middle

3 cups veggie or chicken broth (or 1 good quality bouillon cube & 3 cups water)

1/2 tsp turmeric

1/2 tsp ground cumin

1 tsp ground fennel seeds (smash in a mortar & pestle)

1 tsp ground ginger

1/2 tsp ground cardamom

1/4 tsp ground cinnamon

pinch of ground cloves

1 tsp sea-salt or smoked sea-salt (I used Smoked Maldon sea-salt flakes)

Method:

1 – Place large saute pan (with a lid) on medium heat and add the oil. When it has warmed add the onions and garlic. Cook for 5 minutes.

Saute onions & garlic

2 – Add green beans and continue to saute for another 5 or 6 minutes, stirring occasionally.

Add green beans

3 – Add spices and mix well.

then spices

4 – Add liquid (broth or bouillon and water) and bring to a simmer. Add escarole. cover with lid and simmer gently for 5 minutes.

then escarole and broth

5 – Place salmon on top, cover and continue to cook until fish is done (about 6 minutes). Turn off heat.

Cook salmon on top

Serve as is (this is the way I had it) or add a carbohydrate such as rice, bread or pasta.

serve with anything you like (with tagliatelle for my daughter)

One response to “Salmon with Perfume-y Green Beans and Escarole (serves 4)

  1. this looks so good. i will attempt this tomorrow. wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

