Roast Chicken with Poblano Peppers & Tons of Fresh Herbs (serves 4)

Roast Chicken with Poblano Peppers & Tons of Fresh Herbs (serves 4)

Yesterday was one of those lazy summer days that I will think about when it is miserably cold outside, and I’m feeling lonely for the company of people I love. I had planned a different kind of day, a day of school with my kids in the morning, and in the afternoon planting my herb garden and maybe stick in a few tomato plants while I was at it.

Flowering Cactus by the railway tracks near my house

My friend called and requested an impromptu visit, and my very weak-self, or the part of my that would prefer to sit and chat with her rather than do any of the things I had planned, was delighted to accommodate her whim. The morning was thus spent drinking coffee while enjoying her immensely interesting thoughts on all manner of things. I have to admit I allowed this happy meeting to take place because I knew L. Fay was not one of those women who talked about the things that bore me to no end, like: other people, how she felt she wasn’t pretty enough, or her next sun vacation: yes, she is a women of substance.

The morning dragged into early afternoon and I figured it was high time for a walk. We set out (with my to lovely kids of course) on a walk around town, via a river path, ending at the university’s impressive fountain. It was hot, and the thought of cooling my feet in the water was strong enough to make us all get in!

cooling our feet in a fountain in town

When we got back to the house I made an elaborate lunch that involved tofu, spinach, turkey and pasta (this satisfied all palates). When L.Fay eventually went on her merry way, it was time for me to contemplate dinner. I decided that dinner would be whatever I had in the fridge or was growing in the garden.

Turned out to be the perfect ending to a perfect day.

_____________________________________

You will need: 4lb cut-up chicken,

2 large sweet onions, very large dice or chunked,

3 ribs celery, including leaves, sliced,

4 poblano peppers, left whole(for Blood Type A diet, omit the peppers),

big bunch of fresh oregano & thyme (about 4 sprigs oregano and 6 sprigs thyme, but use more of each if you like),

3 tbs extra-virgin olive oil,

3 1/2 cups chicken broth (or, 3 1/2 cups water and good quality vegetarian or chicken bouillon cube. I use Rapunzel brand),

sea-salt (I use Maldon salt),

freshly ground black pepper (omit black pepper for Blood Tye A Diet).

Preheat oven 450*

1 – Scatter veggies (except for peppers) into bottom of roasting pan or everyday stainless pan (I use my All-Clad pan for the oven all the time). top with the herbs. If using a bouillon cube, break it up and add to veggies. Add the liquid.

lay veggies in bottom of pan

2 – Place the chicken in an even layer over vegetables, and squeeze in the poblanos loosely between the chicken pieces. Drizzle with the oil and add about 1 tsp salt and several grinds of pepper. (if you are using a broth or bouillon cube that you know has plenty of salt in it, add salt sparingly until you taste the cooked broth at the end).

Add chicken and peppers

3 – Place in oven for 1 hour. Remove from oven and let everything rest for 5 minutes before serving.

Serve with whatever you have on hand

To serve: divide chicken and peppers between plates, topping with lots of brothy onions and celery. You can serve this with rice, a salad, potatoes, green veggies or bread.

A lovely day

One response to “Roast Chicken with Poblano Peppers & Tons of Fresh Herbs (serves 4)

  1. it sounds like a lovely day, and i love the pictures…wish i was there with you to enjoy it…x

Leave a Reply

