A Great Lunch In Rome!

So, yesterday was the biggest blizzard in Rome in God knows how long, (being prone to exaggeration, and all that!), and the city came to a virtual standstill in the late afternoon. Luckily for us, we were with an ex-pats who knew the city like the back of her hand; namely Rebecca!

Sardinian bread

We were trouncing with the rest of our gang to the bus stop when she suggested that we get off where there were more choices for lunch. By the way; we were famished!

My daughter's dish; Spaghetti al Granchio (spaghetti with clams)

When we got off the bus, the streets were slushy, slick, and full of unsuspected puddles of dreadfully icy water. We were miserable, cold and hungry. I followed along with my umbrella thinking if I just had a glass of wine, and a morsel of food, I could brave the walk back to the hotel (the buses had ceased to function).

Mario's dish; Tagliolini Gamberi e Carciofi (tagliatelle with prawns and artichokes)

Rebecca spotted a Sardinian restaurant she had eaten at before, and promptly hailed us across the street.

My man Dave's dish; Spaghetti alla Carbonara

We all sat down, grateful to be out of the cold, and giddy about the prospect of eating and drinking.

The fish case!

There was an impressive display of fish by the bar, and my son announced on the spot that he wanted to have squid!

My dish; Pennette al Salmone (penne with smoked salmon)

We ordered wine, and an array of food, and dined very contentedly while watching the snowflakes fall outside the big plate-glass window in the front of the restaurant.

My son's dish; Calamari alla Griglia (grilled squid)

My flesh and bones warned with every bite of food. I was in Rome, eating amazing food, sitting in the company of my new friends, and I became acutely aware of the moment, and of how lucky I was.

I am praying for more of the same tomorrow.

________________________________

2 responses to “A Great Lunch In Rome!

  1. I am so jealous, but happy for you at the same time!
    See you soon x

  2. Hi Tess, et al,

    You better start running if you want to eat like that. Everything looks delicious. Wish I was there!!!! Love, Sharon

Leave a Reply

