1st Year Anniversary Chicken Dinner (serves 4)

I could not think of a more appropriate dish to have on this blog’s 1st anniversary than a good old-fashioned chicken dinner!

A nice dinner to start the year

 I have learned so much more about food than I thought possible, and, of what I am capable of when I put my mind to it.

I love the whole process, from figuring out what to make for dinner, cooking and taking pictures, to the final reward of eating the dish. Then there is the task of writing the recipe and talking about the event.

I have done this whether I have felt like it or not, when times have been good, as well as not so good. I have enjoyed many wonderful dinners with family and friends, as well as meeting some amazing new people.

It all happened because of food, and I am so very grateful to food for opening up a world of possibilities to me, and showing me over and over again, the power it has to bring all sorts of people together.

Happy Anniversary Crappy Kitchen.

How can I give that up? There is still so much I don’t know, and endless recipes I want to document. I am up for continuing with this project, and look forward to each and every opportunity I get to cook for my sweet family, fantastic friends, and anyone else who finds themselves in my world, and it happens to be dinner time!

________________________________

You will need: 4lb chicken (organic if you can afford it), 1 large onion diced, 2 parsnips, peeled and thickly sliced, 1 doz baby red or yellow potatoes, 1 lemon, quartered, 1/2 cup white wine,  2 1/2 cups water, 1 vegetarian bouillon cube (I used Rapunzel), 3 sprigs thyme, 4 or 5 sage leaves, 2 tbs extra-virgin olive oil, sea-salt and black pepper to season chicken.

Preheat oven 425*

1 – Scatter onions, 2 lemon wedges, herbs and crumbled bouillon cube into bottom of saute or roasting pan. Add the wine and 1 cup of water.

put onions, herbs and lemon into bottom of pan

2 – Wash and dry the chicken and place in the center of the pan. Put the remain lemon wedges inside the cavity, and place the parsnips and potatoes around the chicken. Season chicken with a sprinkle of sea-salt and pepper and drizzle the skin and vegetables with the olive oil. Place in the oven for 30 minutes.

Lay chicken on top

4 – Remove pan from oven and add the reaming 1 1/2 cups water. Turn the oven temp. down to 375* and cook the chicken for another 40 minutes. Take out of oven and remove chicken to a board or plate and tent with foil. Let it rest for about 10 minutes before slicing and serving.

Remove the lemons from the pan sauce and swirl in 1 tbs of butter if you like (not necessary, but adds even more flavor)

Serve whole piece of chicken with an assortment of the vegetables and fresh wild greens

Serve with or without greens, rice, pasta or bread.

you can also take the meat off the bone.

4 responses to “1st Year Anniversary Chicken Dinner (serves 4)

  1. Congratulations on your anniversary! I feel so lucky to have been a guest at your crappy kitchen table! I look forward to getting more recipes and inspiration to cook!

  2. many more Michael, many more…tess x

  3. Congrats Crappy Kitchen and THANK YOU for an amazing year of incredible food experiences!
    Chef Panza

Leave a Reply

