Tofu “Fries” (serves 1 or 2)

I know, it is hard to beat a really good french fry, and I am by no means saying that this does the job, however, it was pretty darn good, FOR TOFU!!!

Tofu Fries

A few weeks ago I was with my friend and my kids in a rinky-dink little town (much like the one I live in!), and we were all starving for lunch. We ended up in a local pub in hopes of getting a bowl of soup and a hefty beer!

I was completely taken aback when I saw “tofu fries” on the menu??? I had to give them a try, and, to my complete delight and surprise, they weren’t half bad. I could see that they were lightly breaded and deep-fried. The oil must have been the perfect temperature, because they were crisp on the outside, and tofu-y on the inside, with not a hint of greasiness.

I just had to try this for myself. The other night I gave it a go, and now, I have a new favorite snack food to add to my repertoire.

I rolled the tofu sticks in very fine flour and spices, and fried them in hot, extra-virgin olive oil. They turned out addictively good.

Give it a try, even if the word tofu, is enough to put you off. I was converted, and this comes from a devoted french fry lover.

__________________________________

You will need: I block extra-firm tofu, pressed and sliced into “sticks”, 1/4 cup very fine flour, 1 tsp spices (curry, or spice mix of your own creation), 1 tsp sea-salt, freshly cracked pepper, 6 tbs extra-virgin olive oil, 1/2 cup sour cream (optional), 1 tbs chili garlic sauce (optional), sweet chile sauce (optional)

1 – Put block of tofu on a dinner plate and stack about 4 dinner plates on top of the tofu.Lleave for about a 1/2 hour and then drain the water off of the plate. Cut the tofu into “fry” sticks.

roll in flour & spice mixture

2 – Put the flour, spices, salt and pepper into a shallow bowl or plate and mix together. Add the tofu, and coat lightly with the mixture.

Fry tofu in oil

3 – Put a big saute pan on high heat and add the oil. When the oil gets nice and hot, add the tofu and cook for 3 minute per side. Do not interfere with the pan as they cook, for fear of sticking-tofu problems. Drain onto a paper towel.

Serve with your favorite accompaniment

Serve with the sour cream and chile mixture, or, with sweet chili sauce as soon as they cook.

3 responses to “Tofu “Fries” (serves 1 or 2)

  1. F’ing amazing. Would cure 3/4 of the USA’s fat problem if widely distributed.

  2. You know it Girlfriend! Tess x

  3. Pingback: The Technique For Pressing Tofu or How to Get The Moisture From Tofu | Crappy Kitchen – Good Dinners!

Leave a Reply

