Pork Tenderloin, Hungarian Style (serves 6)

 This is a robust flavorful dinner that can be pulled together in an hour. That is what I love about pork tenderloin. It has the handy knack of having that slow-cooked taste in a snappy amount of time.

Pork Tenderloin, Hungarian Style

It is expensive, so I only buy it when it is on sale. One of the tricks to finding a good piece of meat on sale is to pay attention to expiration dates. The day it expires (or even the day before), it is a fairly universal policy of supermarkets to greatly reduce the price so it sells, rather than the alternative; losing money and throwing it out!

 I’m quite sure the “losing money” thing is more of an incentive than the latter. While there are some conscientious markets that make sure the meat is not destroyed and given to a needy cause to be cooked and distributed, I have it directly from the butcher at the chain of supermarkets I am forced to shop at (this means it is close and when I don’t have the luxury of going to a farmer’s market or better supermarket I end up shopping there!), when the date on the packet comes around, they throw it out.

I usually try to take the time to check dates on some choice cuts of meat and if I see that lamb chops for instance are going to expire the next day, I try to remember to pop in to see if there are any left at a reduced price. Instead of being under pressure to cook them that same evening, I throw them into the freezer.

This is why I had pork tenderloin at my disposal and why I ended up making this fabulous dinner.

So, if you want to be super smart like me, check expiration dates at the meat counter, get a bargain, and, help an animal not to die in vain to boot!

_______________________________________

You will need: 4 tbs extra-virgin olive oil, 2 pork Tenderloin (about 1 lb each), 1 large onion, cut into 8 wedges, 1 cup fresh flat-leaf parsley, roughly chopped, 1 tbs smoked paprika, 1 tsp hot paprika, 2 tbs all-purpose flour good quality chicken or vegetarian stock cube, 3 1/2 cups water, 1 tsp sea-salt, freshly cracked black pepper.

Preheat oven 400*

1 – Season meat lightly with sea-salt and cracked black pepper. Put saute pan or heavy casserole on high heat. Add the oil and when it is hot, place the tenderloin on the pan, and sear on all sides until the outside is a golden brown. Transfer to a plate and set aside.

sear meat on hot pan

2 – Turn the heat down to medium/low, and add the onions and cook for 5 minutes.

saute onions

3 – Add the parsley and cook for another 2 minutes.

add parsley

4 – Add the paprika (smokey & hot) and stir into the onion mixture. Add the flour and repeat.

add spices & flour

5 – Add the water 1 cup at a time and turn heat up to high again. Bring liquid to a simmer and return the tenderloin back to the pan or casserole. Cover with heavy lid and place in oven for 45 minutes.

add liquid

6 – Take out of oven and let it sit for about five minutes before removing meat and cutting into thick slices.

cook for 40 minutes (or until tender)

Serve with rice (see first photo) or with tagliatelle (like below)

you can serve this delicious dish with tagliatelle, or with rice (see top picture). Either way is fantastic.

4 responses to “Pork Tenderloin, Hungarian Style (serves 6)

  1. I’m cooking this right NOW! But I’m opting for the pressure cooker, since our oven is kapoot because of a leaky gas valve or something. Go figure, Stacey smelled gas for a couple of weeks. I thought she was referring to me or maybe a long overdue removal of our kitchen garbage. Hey, I’m busy! Or I was. Now I’m cooking dinner and we’re all hungry. Any advice as to how ling a 1.5 lb tenderloin needs to cook in a pressure cooker?

    Thanks for your crappy blog.

  2. Hey! I hope you have not put this in the pressure cooker yet! I think you can successfully cook this on the stove-top when I give instructions to put it in the oven. Cook at a very low simmer until the pork is tender. Make sure to cover your pot. Tess x

  3. Too late! We’re ready to eat. I’ll let you know how it is.

  4. i made this tonight, and it was so good!

Leave a Reply

