Once in a Lifetime Squid in Pale Pink Sauce, Served with Crispy Olive Oil Triangles (serves 4 as an appetizer)

Why such a dramatic title? The reason is this; every time  my kids and I swoon at the fish counter, and then proceed to bring home unusual little tidbits to try as appetizers, my man Dave gets a scared look in his eye wondering what he may be forced to eat, while I stand over him, looking all silly and enthusiastic.

The dish that changed my man's mind about squid (now he loves it!)

My kids and I love squid tentacles, and, I usually cook them in a little olive oil, and add lemon at the end. This time however I decided to be a little more creative (just a little!) and I quick-cooked them in oil and finished them off in butter, with cream, parsley and lemon juice.

As if by magic, everything turned a beautiful pinky/lilac color, and the squid was the perfect combination of flavor and texture.

I am sure I owe it all to the very fresh seafood, and I am loath to make it again for fear of disappointment.

The moral of the story is; always buy the freshest you can when it comes to fish. If you do that, there is very little you can do wrong!

My man Dave told me it was the best squid he had ever tasted; another reason to never attempt this dish again. I don’t want to ruin his memory of the perfect appetizer.

_____________________________

You will Need: 1 lb squid tentacles, rinsed, 4 tb extra-virgin olive oil, 1/4 cup chopped flat-leaf parsley, 1/4 cup heavy cream, 2 tbs unsalted butter, 1 tbs lemon juice, 4 slices good quality whiter bread, lemon slices.

1 – Put large saute pan on medium/high heat and when it is hot, add 2 tbs of oil. Fry the squid in batches ( it took me two batches to get the job done) in the oil. Place on the pan in an even layer, and let the squid cook for 2 minutes, before turning and repeating for 2 more minutes. Remove to a plate as you go.

saute squid in oil, then in butter

2 – Drain pan of olive oil and put back on low heat. Add the butter and when it has melted, add the parsley and cook for about 1 minutes. Return the squid to the pan and continue to cook for 2 or 3 minutes, turning in the butter.

add cream

3 – Add the lemon juice, followed by the cream, and stir gently. Taste for addition of sea-salt and freshly cracked black pepper. Turn off heat.

fry good quality bread in olive oil

4 – While squid is cooking, add oil to another pan and fry bread on medium heat until golden brown.

Divide between 4 plates and sit with the ones you love, and eat...

Divide between 4 plates and serve with a lemon slice.

One response to “Once in a Lifetime Squid in Pale Pink Sauce, Served with Crispy Olive Oil Triangles (serves 4 as an appetizer)

  1. Amazing! Wish I was there!
    Chef Panza

Leave a Reply

