Tofu and Spinach Curry with Soba Noodles (serves 4)

 I know, tofu! Why even bother eating this spongy, tasteless crap when there is so much good food to be had!

I am the first to admit that when it comes to flavor, tofu sits close to the bottom of the list. On it’s own, I absolutely agree that is tastes like a wadded-up piece of paper. However, when you squeeze the water out of it, and cook it in something aromatic and pungent, it can be transformed into a pleasant chewy morsel.

Tofu & Spinach Curry (not half bad!)

I can get into the rubbery texture of this strange compressed white square of coagulated soy milk. It is high in protein, and low in calories, and how can a girl argue with that!

It is also part of my “Blood Type A” diet which has, by the way, had a very positive effect on my life, (to find out more about what I am rambling about, click on “blood type A diet experiment” at top of my blog page) I have been on a more-or-less no-meat diet (as well as many other self-inflicted deprivations) to see how it affects my health, and general well-being.

I loath to admit it, but since going on this experimental Blood-Type Diet, I have never felt better. Because of that, tofu has become something which I am determined to make taste good.

I know it is not as tasty as so many things, probably most things, but, I can overlook that because of the way I feel after eating tofu, versus the way I feel after eating beef stew.

I love cooking, no matter what the ingredients, and will continue to cook foods to please all sorts of tastes and Blood Types, but for now, you will be subjected to some dinners which feature tofu.

This was really good, and, if you are a vegetarian, or just curious, I encourage you to try this recipe!

________________________________

You will need: 14 0z (397g) extra firm tofu, 2 tbs extra-virgin olive oil, 1 sweet or yellow onion, diced, 2 celery ribs including leaves, sliced, 1/4 cup flat-leaf parsley, roughly chopped, 2 tbs freshly squeezed lime juice, 1 tbs curry powder (the more interesting the blend, the better), 2 tbs all-purpose flour, 1 vegetables bouillon cube, crumbled (I used Rapunzel brand, with herbs & sea-salt), 3 cups water, 8 cups fresh spinach, washed, sea-salt & freshly cracked pepper to taste, 8 oz (227g) soba noodles (buckwheat noodles)

1 – Take block of tofu and put on a dinner plate. Balance about 3 dinner plate on top of the tofu and set aside. When you need it, drain the water that is pressed out of the tofu and slice entire block into cubes.

2 – Put pot of water on high heat and cook noodles according to instructions. Drain and rinse throughly. Set aside until time to add to finished curry.

3 – Put big saute pan on medium heat and add oil. Add onions and saute for about 8 to 10 minutes, until they are soft.

saute onions

4 – Add the curry powder and stir. Add the flour and stir to incorporate for about 1 minute

add spices and tofu

5 – Add the liquid, crumbled bouillon cube, and parsley and stir until it comes to a simmer. Add the tofu, cover and simmer for 12 to 15 minutes.

add liquid

6 – Taste the broth and add salt and pepper according to your taste. Add lime juice and spinach. Cover and cook for another 4 minutes, in which time the spinach will have wilted.

add spinach

Stir in the cooked soba noodles and cook until noodles have warmed (about 1 minute more). Serve in warmed bowls and add hot sauce if you like. (no hot sauce for Blood type A’s, unless you want to cheat and indulge a little; I always cheat!)

add cooked soba noodles

One response to “Tofu and Spinach Curry with Soba Noodles (serves 4)

  1. this looks and sounds so good. can’t wait to try it.

Leave a Reply

