Another Damn Chicken Dinner! (serves 4-6)

There is a theory that if you curse out loud it automatically makes you feel better, physically and psychologically. An english researcher, Richard Stephens from Keele University said “Swearing has been around for centuries and is an almost universal human linguistic phenomenon” I completely concur.

Last Night

Coming from a land where people sprinkle their speech with color, the word “damn” would be considered a weak adjective!

It was however the word that came to mind when trying to come up with a name for this spectacular chicken dinner. Making dinner each night is a thing I have done for years, blogging about it is a new thing, and coming up with names for every variation can be a challenge.

I hate to spend too much time thinking of something amazing to call a dish, as it can seemed long-winded or contrived. I usually come up with something as quickly as possible when I sit in front of my computer which reads “New Post” I look at the pictures of the dish and the list of ingredients, and something pops into my head.

Last night I found myself with another dish that involved chicken…….”another damn chicken dinner!” I couldn’t think of anything else that fit the bill better, and, after asking my man Dave if using “damn” was okay, he looked at me very puzzled as to why I would even care. Let’s face it, he has heard me spouting words that make that one look angelic.

I only questioned myself because I live in the United States (at the moment) and although it is the Land of the Free and home of The Brave, it is also the land where cursing is not looked on as a creative extension of speech, but as something rude, and impolite in most situations.

This was tough to get use to. It is not that I curse all the time, but we say things in Ireland like “Jesus Christ!” and “Oh God!” and no one bats an eye. I was shocked at the reaction I got from people when words like that came out of my mouth. The words seemed so innocent. I’m not even talking about expletives that are a tad stronger!

Both countries may speak english, but they are totally different languages depending on where you were raised. I have learned to substitute my “damns’ for “darns” and my “oh Gods” for “oh Goshes” when I feel anyone might take it the wrong way.

I love living here, and I have made lots of friends, but I think cursing a little more would be a good thing.

___________________________________

You will need: 1 whole chicken (about 3 1/2 lbs), 5 mild Italian Sausages, 3 yellow medium onions, peeled & quartered, 1/2 cup freshly chopped parsley, 2 lbs fingerling potatoes (mine were purple, red and yellow), 1 cup baby carrots, 1 vegetable or Chicken bouillon cube, crumbled, 2 1/2 cups ware, 3 tbs extra-virgin olive oil, sea-salt & freshly cracked black pepper to season chicken.

Preheat oven 400*

1 – Add carrots, onions, crumbled bouillon and herbs to the pan.

add base flavors to pan

2 – Lay the washed and dried chicken in the center of it all and surround with fingerling potatoes.

plot chicken on top

3 – Add the sausage and prick each one a couple of times with a knife.

add sausages

4 – Place in oven and cook for 35 minutes. remove form oven and turn sausage. Baste chicken and potatoes with broth and return to oven for another 15 minutes.

Remove sausage to a plate and cover with tin foil. Return chicken to oven for another 15 minutes or until juices run clear when pierced with a knife between the thigh and the breast.

Take chicken out and put on plate. Tent with foil and rest for ten minutes before carving.

While chicken is resting, return broth and veggies to oven to continue to cook (10 more minutes)

My man Dave had his dinner with lots of sriracha sauce. It doesn't insult me anymore, as it puts it on everything!

Serve chicken in whole pieces (leg, breast, wings), or, take meat off of the bone  with broth and veggies, with rice, pasta or crusty bread.

Damn Good!

Leave a Reply

