Lively Vegetarian soup (serves 2)

This soup was so good, I had it for breakfast the next morning!

Local broccoli & bitter greens

I got a lovely bunch of bitter greens and broccoli in my share box this past week (see top right of blog for more information) and I knew they would go perfectly with my boring tofu (I admit it is boring, but I like the texture, and, when it is paired with strong flavors, it ain’t half bad!).

So Good

This soup had one ingredient not recommended for a Blood Type A diet (Pepper flakes), but, if I am going to give this experiment a real try, I cannot deprive myself of everything I love. I would prefer to eat a few hot pepper flakes than forego the diet altogether!

The soup was everything a soup should be; comforting, filling, and good to the last drop!

________________________________________

You will need: 2 tbs extra-virgin olive oil, 1 medium onion, diced, 1 cups baby carrots, (sliced, if necessary), 2 cloves garlic, finely chopped, 1 celery rib, diced, 1 cup broccoli florets, 2 cups bitter greens, 1 tsp cayenne pepper flakes, 6 oz firm silken tofu, cubed, 1 tsp green or red curry powder, 1 tsp fennel seeds, crushed, 1 small bay leaf, 1 tsp sea-salt, cracked black pepper to taste, 1 good quality vegetarian bouillon cube (I use Rapunzel brand), 4 cups water.

1 – Prep all the ingredients before you start cooking. Put small soup pot on medium heat and add the oil. When it warms, add the carrots, onions, celery and garlic. Cook for about 15 minutes, stirring occasionally, (you may have to adjust your heat as you go).

saute base flavors

2 – Add the salt, pepper, bouillon cube and spices to the veggies, and stir. Cook for 1 minute before adding the water, tofu, broccoli and bitter green. Bring to a simmer and cover and cook for 10 minutes.

add liquids, tofu, & other greens

3 – Taste and adjust seasoning, adding more salt or heat to your preference.

Lively Vegetarian Soup

Ladle into shallow bowls and serve with sprouted wheat bread if you like.

Leave a Reply

