Marvelous Udon Noodles with Crunchy Asian-Style Vegetables (serves 4)

If you have absolutely no time to cook dinner tonight, you may change your mind about eating something junkie when I tell you that this gorgeous meal is ready in 20 minutes, start to finish!

wonderfully fast without compromising on taste. Marvelous.

If my son had his way (all of the time) he would request food like this every day for the rest of his life.  I happen to make the mistake of asking him what he would like to eat and he ran and grabbed the bok choy from my crop share box (see top right of my blog for more information) and the udon noodles he made me buy at the health food shop the other day.

I gave in and told him I would try my best to invent some sort of “Asian-Style” dish just for him, while also satisfying the rest of the family.

I was lucky to have these ingredients on hand

I am not the most organised person in the world (at least compared to a couple of close girlfriends who are sickingly regimented in all things), but I have to say, when it comes to stocking my kitchen with pantry items, and general culinary related things, I am not so shabby!

With the help of some leftover turkey breast, soy sauce and fresh ginger to go with my son’s specific ingredients, I managed to make a dynamite dinner. Sometimes it is good to be put on the spot and let your instincts take over. I was highly complimented from the biggest to the smallest, and am very happy to be armed with a new, fast-as-lighting dinner.

_____________________________

You will need: 2 cups chopped, cooked meat such as turkey or chicken breast (I used turkey), 2 small onions, diced, 6 ribs bok choy, ribs diced & leaves roughly chopped, 1 celery rib, including leaves, sliced, 2 garlic cloves, finely chopped, 3 tbs extra-virgin olive oil, 1 1/3 cups broth (or, 1 1/3 cups noodle cooking water & 1/2 veggie bouillon cube – this is what I had), 1 tbs grated ginger root, 3 tbs mirin (sweet sake found in the ethnic section of your supermarket), 5 tbs soy sauce, 1 tbs corn starch (cornflour), 8 oz (230 g) udon noodles, (a regular pasta noodle would certainly work also)

1 – Prep all ingredients and put pot of water on high heat for noodles. When water comes to a boil, add the noodles and cook according to instructions. when cooked, rinse in colander with lots of cold water and set aside.

2 – Put big saute pan on medium/high heat and add the oil when pan gets hot. add all of the vegetables and cook for 5 or so minutes, stirring frequently. Turn heat down to medium/low and add the chopped turkey or chicken. Let everything cook for another 5 or so minutes.

saute vegetables

3 – In the meantime, put the broth (or noodle cooking water & bouillon cube), soy, mirin, ginger and corn starch into a small saucepan and whisk everything together. Heat on stove top while the veggies and chicken are cooking. When the sauce heats up, add to your pan and stir.

add turkey and liquid

4 – Stir in the noodles and continue to cook until the noodles have warmed up.

Add cooked noodles

Serve immediately on warmed plates or bowls, and pass hot sauce to anyone who feels the need!

some of the family add a little sriracha for an extra kick

A good sign of a full tummy

Leave a Reply

