Roasted Peppers Simmered in Cream, (Rajas) Serves 6 as an appetizer

Yes, I know, more talk about peppers. This time however, it was purely accidental , in that I was not desperately trying to find new ways to use up my cut-and-come-again crop in the backyard!

Lucky I had these to satisfy my longing to try out a new recipe!

What happened was, this weekend, myself and my man Dave were in New York City, and met up with 2 very special friends whom we had not seen in many, many years. My one friend Ellen, is a chef, and lived and worked as a chef in the city for years before high-tailing it to a sunnier location for an easier life. So, going out to dinner can be a bit of a challenge, as her standards are high when it comes to food (lucky us!).

We were in luck the other night and found an amazing Mexican restaurant. When we got there the place was completely packed and buzzing with excitement. We got a table after only a short wait and from that moment on, all I remember is food, friends and bliss.

Ellen ordered all sorts of tidbits for us to taste, and we got to sample at least 6 different dishes. Myself and Ellen fell in love with the roasted pepper dish. She told me it was roasted poblano peppers cooked in cream and topped with a mild white cheese – wow, I was impressed that 3 ingredients could pack such a punch?

Roasted Peppers Simmered in Cream (Rajas)

I found out that roasted pepper strips in Mexican kitchens refer to Raja, which literally means “strips”, so I figured that is officially what we ate (I didn’t really look at the menu, it was dark and Ellen was in charge)

When I left the glamour of the city for the Crappy Kitchen, I wished for those creamy peppers. Peppers simmered in cream…….how hard could that be to replicate?

I had tons of peppers (no  poblano, but I did have cayenne peppers which would satisfy the heat element,  along with a colorful assortment of regular sweet peppers), and so gave the dish a try.

I am so brilliant, because it turned out amazing. I now have a new dish under my belt, which means, so do you! We had it with some sort of sweetened chip, but I think corn chips are just as good. I am also going to try it on a nice piece of toast for breakfast!

__________________________________

You will need: 4 sweet peppers (mixture of red, yellow, green & orange), 3 fresh cayenne peppers, (OR, 2 sweet peppers & 3 poblano), 1 small red onion, small dice, 1/4 cup & 2 tbs extra-virgin olive oil, 1 cup heavy cream, 1/2 tsp sea-salt, 3/4 cup mild cheese (I used a double cream mild white cheddar), corn chips.

Preheat oven 450*

1 – Put peppers on baking tray and rub with 2 tbs of the olive oil. Place in preheated oven and cook for about 40 minutes, turning every 15. Remove and place in heavy brown paper or plastic bag and seal for 15 to 20 minutes. When cool enough to handle, take out, remove the seeds, and peel the skin. Slice thinly into long strips and slice the cayenne peppers.

roast the peppers

roast the cayenne peppers too

2 – While peppers are roasting  saute the onions for 10 minutes on medium heat in the remainder of the oil (1/4 cup).  Add the sliced peppers to the pan, then the cream and salt.

slice the peppers

3 – Bring to a boil and simmer for about 3 minutes. Turn off heat and add the cheese. Give everything a stir until the cheese has melted into the cream.

Add cream and boil

Serve topped with more cheese and tortilla chips (or toast). I am also thinking it would be good with eggs and a flour tortilla.

Lovely rajas

Leave a Reply

