Roasted Italian Sausage and Chicken with Green & Red Tomatoes and Fingerling Potatoes (serves 6)

 This dinner was all about using up lots of heirloom tomatoes I had sitting on my counter top. When I looked at these beautiful specimens sitting in my kitchen last night I couldn’t believe there was a time when I absolutely detested tomatoes!

My mother would put them in salads  and on plain bread, and try to get me to eat it. I would literally gag at the taste. I also remember never having tasted them cooked. She did not grow up making tomato based sauces. Indeed anything other than meat and potatoes was foreign to her recipe repertoire. She did not live in a time when a country like Italy had any influence over her cooking. It really was a far-away place. It is so different today!

If you never liked tomatoes, these ones would change your mind!

If I had tasted a tomato like any of the ones above, my love affair with the tomato would have started a lot earlier than in my 20’s. These tomatoes were sweet, meaty, and could have been eaten like an apple, (save for a sprinkle of sea-salt flakes and pepper with every bite!). 

I wanted the tomatoes in this dish to be the taste I remembered long after I was finished my dinner. I am happy to report today, that the tomato is still lingering.

_______________________________________

You will need: 6 boneless, skiness chicken thighs, 6 mild or hot Italian sausages, 3 tbs extra-virgin olive oil, 4 green tomatoes or 4 ripe red tomatoes, thickly sliced (the green ones I used were heirlooms called Evergreen), 2 small red onions, large dice, leaves from 1 sprig fresh rosemary, 1 cup chicken broth, 1/2 cup water OR 1 1/2 cups water with 1 veggie bouillon cube, coarse sea-salt, freshly ground black pepper, 2 lbs baby fingerling potatoes (or any variety of baby potato), washed and left whole, 1 head romaine lettuce (optional)

Preheat oven 400*

1 – Scatter the onions, tomatoes and rosemary into big saute pan or roasting dish. Add a sprinkle of salt and some grinds of pepper.

scatter onions, tomatoes and rosemary into bottom of pan

2 – Lay the meat on top and season chicken with some salt and pepper. Add the broth (or water and bouillon cube) and drizzle with the oil and place in oven. Time for 25 minutes. Take out of oven and turn the sausages and return to oven for another 20 or so minutes.

Place meat on top

3 – While dinner is in the oven, place the potatoes in a pot and cover with cold water. Put lid on pit and bring to a boil. Gently boil until cooked all the way through (about 20 or so minutes). Drain, cover top with tea towel and set aside until meat is cooked.

Gorgeous potatoes from the local Good Work Farm

4 – When dish comes out of the oven, toss in the potatoes, and let everything sit for 5 minutes before serving.

tons of flavor in this Roasted Sausage and Chicken with Green & Red Tomatoes and fingering Potatoes

I served this on a bed of finely chopped romaine lettuce, but you could easily saute some spinach, or eat this with any green you like (peas, broccoli, green beans etc)

One response to “Roasted Italian Sausage and Chicken with Green & Red Tomatoes and Fingerling Potatoes (serves 6)

  1. David is begging for me to make this one!

Leave a Reply

