Restorative Shrimp and Rice Dinner (serves 6)

 Wednesday night’s dinner is always a mystery to me until moments before I throw on the apron and take my position in the kitchen. That is the day that I pick up my “crop share” of  vegetables from Good Work Farm (take a look at the top right of my blog for more information). Whatever is in that box determines what will appear on the plate that evening.

Restorative Shrimp and Rice Dinner

This week the box was chock full of all sorts of my favorite things; onions, peppers, a lovely little savoy cabbage, and the first broccoli of the year! I had peppers galore and only a precious few of everything else. I decided to make the dinner a precious one and used the cabbage, broccoli and some of the lovely little red onions (OK – I had to use 1 pepper, and since everything else appeared to be green, I opted to stay with that theme and chose a green pepper!)

Freshly picked broccoli from Good Work Farm

My vegetarian friend Lori (certainly not the reason we are friends, but this is about food, so that’s an important thing to note), has been showing up for dinner most Wednesdays, and this also  factors into my decision-making. (she is gracious about the inclusion of fish, which is necessary if I don’t want to hear complaints from everyone else!)

More great produce form Good Work Farm for my dinner last night!

It all worked out splendidly. There is nothing like the taste of vegetables with the aura of local dirt still clinging to them. Also, the rice I cooked was a present from Lori, and was a new brand for me. I am always on the hunt for good rice, but it is hard to find where I live. I had found one place that sold a brand I loved (Swad) but they no longer carry it. I hate eating bad quality rice. it ruins the meal. This one was really nutty and smelled heavenly when cooked.

Pari Basmati Rice

She said she must love me a lot because she carried this huge sack from New York City to the bus station, and then walked from there to my house (OK – not a long walk, but a real pain to have to lug, I’m sure). We all agreed it was worth it, and she may be begged to do it again in the near future!

________________________________

You will need: 1 lb shrimp, shelled & deveined (use the 31-40 count per lb size), 1/4 cup soy sauce, 2 tbs mirin (sweetened Japanese Sake, found in the Asian section of your supermarket), juice of 1 lime, 2 garlic cloves, very finely chopped, 4 tbs extra-virgin olive oil, 1 green pepper, small dice, 2 small red onions, small dice, 1/2 lb white mushrooms, sliced, 1 tbs freshly chopped rosemary leaves, 3 broccoli crowns, chopped into bite-sized pieces, 3 cups good quality raw basmati rice OR 4 cups if using rice-cooker measure and rice-cooker.

1 – Mix together the soy, mirin, lime juice and garlic in a medium bowl. Add the shrimp and set aside while you prep the rest of the ingredients.

2 – Chop all vegetables according to instructions above. Do not start cooking until everything is chopped.

3 – Cook rice according to instructions. When cooked, fluff up and set aside until ready to use in dish.

Marinate shrimp

4 – Put big saute pan or wok on high heat and add 2 tbs of the oil. Add the peppers and onions and cook for 3 minutes or so, stirring continually.

Saute onions and green peppers

5 – Add the mushrooms and rosemary and continue to cook for another 4 minutes.

Add mushrooms

6 – Add the broccoli and cook for another 3 minutes. Turn the heat down and continue to cook, adding more oil as needed.

next broccoli, then shrimp

7 – Add the shrimp and the marinade and cook until shrimp are cooked through (5 to 6 minutes).

Finally, the rice

8 – Add the rice and stir everything together. Turn off heat.

Serve with a dollop of sour cream and sriracha sauce if you like.

Let everyone serve themselves, or, you can divide into warm shallow bowls for them. Put some sweet chilli sauce, hot sauce and sour cream on the table and use sparingly, or, liberally as a garnish!

2 responses to “Restorative Shrimp and Rice Dinner (serves 6)

  1. Another Mirin recipe I’ll have to try-especially if it’s “restorative”. 🙂

  2. Yep! you need to open that dusty bottle of Mirin Kathleen. Tess x

Leave a Reply

