The Best Stir-Fry Rice Noodles with Chicken and Vegetables (serves 4)

Wow – what a crazy whirlwind of a dinner! Sometimes, I cook my best under the greatest pressure. The pressure came in the form of a really hungry family, and I couldn’t blame them. My friend came over for a chat, and I started dinner later than my usual late start! When she left I promised everyone that dinner would be poised on the tines of their forks in less than 35 minutes – yikes, pressure on.

ingredients assembled with no solid idea of what to do with all this?

I know it’s  a little more than self-flattery to call this dish “The best stir-fry”, but I am going to be daring and let the title stand. I am critical enough of myself on a daily basis, so, I am brazenly going to take the credit for doing something right.

I went to the fridge and took every vegetable I had in my crisper drawer and chopped them, along with an onion and 2 cloves of garlic. I put everything in a bowl, and then proceeded to thinly slice the 3 chicken breasts I had defrosted the night before. It certainly looked like the beginnings of a stir-fry, but I didn’t want to cook rice or make my same old soy sauce blend.

My new Favorite Stir-Fry!

My son had thrown a box of rice noodles into my shopping basket on our last outing, and so I decided to cook them. I also decided that  when they were cooked, dinner would be ready! I made a new soy sauce concoction with lime juice and ginger powder and hoped for the best.

 My flavors were spot on and dinner was a wonderful surprise. If you make this, add some chopped peanuts to the finished dish. I was sorry to have none on hand. I made this so fast I was full sure I would not remember what I had done, so I scribbled the recipe down on note paper as I devoured my dinner. Please give this one a try!

___________________________________

You will need: 6 tbs olive oil, 3 chicken breasts, thinly sliced, 1 medium sweet onion, diced, 2 long skinny red peppers, sliced (or 1 red pepper, diced), 1 green pepper, diced, 2 large garlic cloves, thinly sliced, 5 or 6 cups fresh spinach leaves, 1 jalapeno pepper, sliced, 14 oz rice noodles (may be labeled “stir-fry rice noodles”)

For Sauce;  Mix together in a small bowl: 1/4 cup soy sauce, juice of 1 lime, 1 tbs hoisin sauce, 1 tbs rice vinegar, 1 1/2 tsp fine white sugar, 1/2 tsp ground ginger powder, 1 tsp cayenne pepper flakes

1 – Put pot of water on to boil for noodles. When it is boiling, turn it off and add the rice noodles. Leave to soak in hot water for 8 minutes. After time is up, drain into colander and rinse with plenty of cold water. Leave in colander until ready to use.

2 – While noodles are cooking, prep all of the vegetables and chicken.

Veggies prepped.

2 – When everything is prepped (do not start until everything is chopped,  sliced, or mixed), put large saute pan or wok on high heat. When it is hot, add 3 tbs of oil. When it is hot, add the veggies and cook for 7 or 8 minutes, stirring frequently. Transfer to plate.

Stir-fry veggies

3 – Add the rest of oil (3 tbs) and then the chicken. Quickly spread evenly in pan. Do not touch for 3 minutes. After this time, turn chicken and leave alone for another 3 minutes.

Stir-fry chicken

4 – Add the veggies and stir. Add the spinach and cook for 1 minute before adding the awaiting rice noodles. Pull pan off of heat and stir together while adding the sauce.

add spinach

Serve immediately in bowls as is, or add more soy sauce to your taste, or a teaspoon of chilli garlic sauce.

The Best Rice Noodle Stir-Fry with Chicken & Vegetables, with a dollop of garlic chilli sauce

I can’t think of one reason not to love this dish!

Leave a Reply

