Dense Chocolate Loaf (serves 10)

The Young Baker is at it again!

Dense Chocolate Loaf with Freshly Whipped Cream and Grated Chocolate

  When the kitchen became my girl’s hangout, that is, when she was old enough to grab onto my leg, she did what kids do, she started to absorb absolutely everything! The old saying about children and sponges is scarily true! It’s scary because you know that your every move is being documented, and filed away in their super-brains. So, you had better make sure that the things you do are ones you are happy to see repeated! Apart from a few minor embarrassments, we’re not doing too bad.

When my daughter decided to try things on her own I started a page on my blog for her. I wanted her to keep it up, and show her what she was doing was important and appreciated. Apparently, she needed no encouragement, and has been busy in the kitchen trying out new recipes whenever she has some down-time, and the kitchen is free.

She started off with me not helping, but I “hovered” in the kitchen in case she needed any advice, or help putting something into a hot oven. However, last week she disappeared into the kitchen, and when I became nosey, she told me to kindly keep out, and not to worry. She emerged an hour later holding a cake. She presented it to her brother and told him it was his “get well soon” present, (he happened to be sick that day). It was then I realised that she didn’t need me for everything. I made myself feel less wounded by the happy thought that she could now make the sweet stuff instead of me!

Which brings me to her latest baking endeavour. We had friends coming to dinner, and I was again ousted out of the kitchen and she set to work. I had no notion what she was making, and only worried about her using the oven. I walked into the kitchen after a respectable amount of time away, to find her with oven mitts on, and her pulling a loaf pan out of a 350* oven. She was as cool as a cucumber, so I stifled my gasp of concern.

The Young Baker prepping dessert.

She made this chocolate loaf from Nigella Lawson and I’ll wager it tasted better than the one in Ms. Lawson’s Test Kitchen! You go Young Baker!!

________________________________

You will Need: 2 sticks unsalted butter (8 oz), room-temperature, 1 2/3 cups dark brown sugar (we used light brown and it didn’t seem to matter), 2 lrg eggs, 1 tsp vanilla, 4 0z bittersweet chocolate, melted (we used 1 cup 60% chocolate chips and it was great), 1 1/3 all-purpose flour, 1 tsp baking soda, 1 cup boiling water, 1 9×5″ loaf pan

Preheat oven 375*

1 – Put the butter and sugar in a big bowl and cream with an electric mixer. Add eggs 1 at a time, and the vanilla, beating in well. Fold the melted chocolate into the egg mixture.

2 – Mix the dry ingredients in a separate bowl and then add it to the chocolate mixture in about 1/4 cup increments alternatively with the boiling water.

3 – Scrap the mixture into the pan and place in preheated oven for 30 minutes. After that time, turn the oven down to 325* and continue to cook for another 15 minutes (it will still be a little runny in the middle, but that’s how it’s suppose to be).

4 – Place pan on a cooling rack and cool completely before turning out.

This cake keeps for a week wrapped in foil or plastic.

Serve with freshly whipped heavy cream and grated chocolate.

You can serve this by itself, or, do what the Young Baker did above, and serve with cream and chocolate shavings.

4 responses to “Dense Chocolate Loaf (serves 10)

  1. The Young Baker has inspired me to make this gorgeous looking loaf… I think it’s the presentation that clinched it for me though!

  2. What a wonder you are. Your chocolate cake looked so good I wanted to jump right into the picture and take a bite. I’m so proud of you and I know you made your Mom proud, too. Two thumbs up! Love, Eileen

  3. Yum!
    Yum! Darling

  4. I know….it is dangerous to have a baker in the house!!

Leave a Reply

