Peach Crumble (serves 6-8)

I broke down and made a Crumble! Isn’t that what you do when mountains of fresh peaches are threatening to explode on your counter top, and spilling out of bowls, while others are taking up space in a colander in the sink? How come I had so many peaches all of a sudden! This happens when it seems like overnight, peaches, laden with sweet juicy flesh, plummet off of trees, unable to hold on any longer. Everywhere you go, there are peach stalls selling the fruit at bargain prices. That’s what happened to me anyway. My friend Lisa told me about the “best peaches in the world” for sell on a makeshift cart on an obscure back road close to her house.

Lovely local peaches!

When I got to the stall I bought more than we could possibly eat; I couldn’t resist. Have you ever tasted a peach straight from the tree? The taste is so good, it borders on sinful! There they all were, sitting in my kitchen when my sister-in-law Beth called and begged me to take an over abundance of peaches off her hands. She was desperate to get rid of them for fear they might get thrown away (another sinful act). She had been strong-armed into taking them from her friend who had, like me, bought way too many! I felt bad and took them.

As you can see, it was peach crumble or watch them turn to mush. This is the easiest thing to make. No need for a recipe. Just remember, all you need is butter, sugar and flour in more or less equal parts. After that, you can add what you like as far as spices are concerned. I choose cinnamon and allspice powder.

This Peach Crumble looked fabulous in my lovely bowls from Bandana Pottery

It gave me great satisfaction to see my peach hoard reduced by 15! It was a wonderful treat after dinner 2 nights in a row and I am planning on trying my hand at some sort of preserve for the rest of them!

_____________________________

You will need: 3/4 cup all-purpose flour, 3/4 cup light brown sugar, 1/4 tsp salt, 6 tbs cold unsalted butter, 1 tsp cinnamon, 1/4  tsp allspice, 12-15 ripe peaches, peeled and cut into big chunks or wedges.

Preheat oven 325*

1 – Put all ingredients into bowl (except the butter and peaches) and mix together with a hand whisk to incorporate. You may need to get lumps out of the sugar by rubbing with your fingers, and remove any really hard bits of sugar.

2 – Add the butter in slices and rub into the flour and sugar mixture with your fingertips until everything  resembles rubble.

Ingredients assembled

3 – Butter a big baking casserole (I used a 9 x 13 Pyrex dish). Peel the peaches and slice into the bottom of the dish in an even layer. I used 15 peaches to do this. You are aiming for about 2 or more layers of peaches. Sprinkle the crumble mixture over the peaches and bake in the oven for 25 minutes.

Ready for the oven

4 – Right before serving, stick under broiler to crisp up the top. I made this before dinner and it stayed warm until it was time for dessert. Broiling at the end is key to getting it crispy.

Ready!

Serve in little dessert bowls with a nice drizzle of heavy (unwhipped) cream.

Serve with a drizzle of heavy cream

This is a great dessert when peaches are in season, and begging not to be thrown in the bin!

Leave a Reply

