Seasonal Tomatoes & Mozzarella Stacks with Basil Pesto Appetizer (serves 4)

What can I say about my CSA box of veggies from Good Work Farm this week? I had been looking forward to this moment since Sunday as I was all out of anything worth eating (I had been away the week before had given my share box to friends). I was holding out for this precious box of homegrown goodies, and did not really appreciate the bounty the way I should until I was deprived of it for a week. I had been visiting a place which was very beautiful , but had little to offer by way of freshly grown local produce, save for some berries and a variety of greens. When I came home I was starved for fresh food and my CSA box of vegetables grown by Farmers Sarah & Anton was much anticipated.

My CSA Crop share this week!

I am always a bit confused about what to make the day I get all of this fresh food. I want to cook everything instantly, just to taste it. This week, the tomatoes stood out like giant rubies . There was no way I could resist not doing something with a couple of them the moment I entered the kitchen. I wanted to eat them raw as I knew they would taste like the epitome of summer.

Tomato & Mozzarella stacks appetizer

And, what could be better than fresh mozzarella and pesto? I threw my bags on the counter and made this appetizer immediately. I had lots of pesto on hand so they came together in an instant. A few weeks ago I was in a panic at how my 16 basil plants were growing faster than I could use them. I know that 16 plants is probably a lot of basil for a family of 4, but when May comes around and I can finally get herbs for my garden, I tend to be an overzealous purchaser.

I put basil into everything I can while I have it, and I make tons of pesto for the freezer to get me through the winter. Last night, I stacked fresh mozzarella cheese between slices of tomato smeared with pesto. A little sea salt flakes, black pepper and a drizzle of extra-virgin olive oil rounded out this great pre-dinner snack. I will dream about how this tasted when my herb garden is replaced by a thick blanket of snow

____________________________________________

You will need: 2 big ripe tomatoes, sliced, 8 oz fresh mozzarella cheese, sliced, 2 tbs pesto, coarse sea salt (I used Maldon salt flakes), freshly ground black pepper, extra-virgin olive oil.

1 – Prep all ingredients. (For pesto recipe type “basil pesto” in the search box to the right of my blog). Put four plate on your counter-top and lay a slice of tomato on each, followed by a sprinkle of salt and pepper. Smear a little pesto on top and add a slice of cheese.

2 – Repeat with another tomato slice, cheese, and finish with a tomato slice, pesto and a drizzle of olive oil over the whole thing.

This was made to honor the lovely tomato

This is a great appetizer for a crowd, and is a delectable way to use up the abundant supply of tomatoes in your garden at the height of the season.

3 responses to “Seasonal Tomatoes & Mozzarella Stacks with Basil Pesto Appetizer (serves 4)

  1. That looks gorgeous!

  2. great …looks good and bet it’s delicious

Leave a Reply

