Baby Bundt Cakes (makes 5 or 6)

Here is my daughter’s first totally independent baking attempt, and, I have to say it; amazing results! She choose a recipe from a cookbook by Nigella Lawson, “How To Be A Domestic Goddess”, which she received as a Christmas present the year before. 

My daughter's first cookbook

As far as my observations go, and from the experience of being a kid myself oh so long ago, baking is the first thing that attracts little people into the kitchen. Something about mixing batters, and cracking eggs into bowls of sugar, and whipping them into a frenzy, feels like being in a giant play kitchen, only the results of their play are sumptuous cakes, cookies and tarts.

a nice drizzle of lemon sugar finishes this little cake to perfection.

The other great thing about baking is that cookbooks have very specific rules about everything, and children love to follow instructions step by step. Going by instinct or “feel” is just too difficult at a young age, so, I told my girl that following a recipe verbatim was a must to gain an understanding of why things work the way they do.

She made these baby bundt cakes simply because I had a bundt pan with baby bundt molds in it! The idea of making little cakes appealed to the little girl in her, and her need to make all things look pretty.

Her first solo baking master class was extremely successful, and turned out the best little cakes I have tasted in ages!

________________________

For The Cakes, You will Need: 1/2 cup plain yogurt, 6 tbs butter, melted, 2 large eggs, zest of 1 lemon, 1 cup all-purpose flour, 1/2 tsp baking soda, pinch of salt, 7 tbs sugar,

For The Icing, You Will Need: 1 1/3 cup confectioner’s sugar (icing sugar), juice of 1 lemon

Equipment: 1 mini bundt pan with 6 molds, buttered and oiled (about 4 x 2″ each)

Preheat 325*

mix eggs, yogurt & lemon zest

1 – Mix yogurt, melted butter, eggs and lemon zest together in a small bowl.

mix dry ingredients together

2 – Put the dry ingredients into a large mixing bowl. Mix in the wet ingredients with a wooden spoon.

Fill bundt molds (messy is good!)

3 – Fill bundts and bake for 25-30 minutes. When they are cooked, leave for 1 minute before unmolding, and then unmold carefully, and cool on wire rack.

cool cakes on wire rack

4 – Make icing by sifting sugar and mixing in lemon juice. Drizzle over cakes with a spoon when completely cool.

Drizzle with icing

Serve after dinner or with something like coffee or tea.

6 responses to “Baby Bundt Cakes (makes 5 or 6)

  1. Dear daughter,
    Congrats, I can just taste them over here in HK. This reminds me of a Christmas present I received as a young kid. A Betty Crocker Bake set with real baking tins and little boxes of ingredients, one made miniature cakes to bake and eat. I loved it as much as my Erector Set for building skyscrapers, etc.
    You have skipped all that and went right to the real deal.
    Love,
    Tom

  2. Thank you so much Tom I really appreciate your story.
    love, Ide

  3. Your daughter is so so talented…. I feel like I must have been close by the day she was born…. I’d like to have baked her a cake today!!! xxxx

  4. What yummy looking cakes. I wish I had one right now, or two or three…
    Good work young baker!!

  5. Dear Ide, Please bake a cake for me. Tanks, Love Sean

  6. Pingback: Blood Type A “Diet Experiment” Update AND A STRONG Word About “Diets” !! | Crappy Kitchen - Good Dinners!

Leave a Reply

