Smokey Broth with Chicken, Snow Peas and Yellow Peppers with Udon Noodles (Serves 4)

Yesterday I told my man Dave that I would make him one of his favorite meals; chicken fajitas. I bought everything that I would need, the peppers, chicken, a can of lovely smokey chipotle peppers and a lime. However, that plan changed when time got away from me. The problem is I insist on making the flour tortilla for the fajitas (once you do it this way, there is no going back I’m afraid; look for my chicken fajita & flour tortilla recipe in the search box to the right) and that step takes up a bit of time. Flour tortillas are a pleasure to make when you want to spend some leisurely time in the kitchen. It can be quite cathartic even. But, when there is a time crunch, and kids and adults alike are ready to kill each other due to starvation it is best to choose a quicker alternative. I for once made the sensible decision to rethink the menu.

Fresh local snow peas..

I stood in the kitchen when the ingredients in front of me and wondered how to change what I was making without changing the ingredients? I had some lovely locally grown snow peas and I imagined them floating in a broth of some sort. I decided to use everything I would have used for the fajita along with the snow peas, only make a broth with water and stock, flavored with the chipotle peppers and lime juice. I also only used the yellow pepper to keep everything a golden color except for the vibrant green of the peas, and the dark red flecks of the chipotle peppers.

Brothy Limey Smokey deliciousness..

It was such an easy dinner to put together and I was amazed by the results. I was a little worried that I had made it too spicy for the kids but they completely loved the smokey heat. The udon noodles made a nice alternative to rice and we all slurped away contentedly until there was nothing left.

_____________________________________________________

You will Need: 3 boneless chicken breasts, cut into bite-sized pieces, 2 tbs olive oil, 4 cloves garlic, thinly sliced,  1 yellow or sweet onion, diced, 1 big yellow pepper, cut into stripes, 2 cups snow peas, cut lengthways in half, 2 chipotle peppers (look in search box to the side of my blog to find out more about chipotle peppers), diced with a little of the sauce from the can, 1 vegetable or chicken bouillon cube, 5 cups water, 6 oz udon noodles,

Saute onions and garlic, then add peppers..

1 – Put big saute pan on medium/low heat and add the oil. when it has warmed add the onions and garlic and cook, stirring frequently for 7 or so minutes. Add pepper and continue to saute for another 5 minutes.

next add chipotle peppers..

2 – Add chipotle pepper and stir. Continue to cook for another 3 or 4 minutes.

Add liquid and snow peas..

3 – Add bouillon cube and water and bring to a simmer. Add the snow peas, cover and simmer on gentle heat for 5 minutes.

lastly, the chicken..

4 – Add chicken and cover. Continue to simmer gently for 12 or so minutes. At this point the chicken should be cooked but  you can take a bite to test for doneness. It should be tender (not tough) and white inside. Remove pan from heat.

Udon Noodles are lovely in this dish. Udon noodles are made from wheat flours and can be found in most well-stocked supermarkets and speciality shops. I like the Roland brand.

5 – While chicken is cooking put water on to boil for noodles. Cook according to instructions (usually cooks in boiling water in 4 to 5 minutes). Drain and rinse throughly in cold water before tossing into the broth (if you don’t do this they will continue to cook and become soft and starchy).

Smokey Broth with Chicken, Snow Peas & Yellow Peppers with Udon Noodles - completely satisfying.

Leave a Reply

