Trout with cilantro & Jalapeno Pepper Baked in Foil (serves 4)

Rainbow Trout

This (above) is what I got at the market yesterday. I had a request for fish and this happened to be the cheapest fish in the sustainable world. If I’m completely desperate I will give-in and buy something that is not fished or farmed responsibly, but I try really hard not to make a habit of it. Rainbow trout falls into the category of ” good choice”  so I went ahead and gave my conscience a rest!  How do you know what the Good Choices are when you are standing at a fish counter? I can’t say that I keep up with what is going on, so, I do the next best thing; let someone else guide me. I use the Monterey Bay Aquarium Seafood Watch Guide. They created a down-loadable list (which I keep in my purse) of the best choices, good alternatives and fish to avoid for one reason or another. After that, I have to go by what I can afford. Rainbow trout is available all year round and if you buy it whole (it will always be gutted) it is very affordable.

It was a really hot day and I wanted minimum kitchen time. Fish is wonderfully fast, without compromising on taste. I wanted a little heat in my fish so I decided that if I cooked each one in some foil everyone could custom-season their dish! I and my husband choose cilantro, garlic, hot peppers and lemon and the kids wanted lemon and garlic. I added a tablespoon of white wine to each packet and that created a sauce along with the fish juices. Try cooking fish this way. It is so easy, especially for nervous “fish cookers”

___________________________________________________

You will need: 4 Rainbow Trout, gutted, (mine had heads on and back bone and skin in tact, but feel free to use a trout fillet), 1 clove garlic, finely chopped, 2 tbs freshly chopped cilantro, 1 jalapeno pepper, finely chopped, (remove seeds if you prefer it to be milder tasting), 4 lemon slices, 4 tbs white wine, coarse sea salt, freshly ground black pepper.

Preheat oven 425*

Season, then lay cilantro, lemon & garlic atop fish..

1 – Wash and dry trout and generously season with salt and pepper, inside and out. Lay fish on a big square of foil that has been doubled. Divide the cilantro, pepper, lemon slice and jalapeno into 4 portions and place on top of each fish. Add 1 tbs of wine and pull the foil together and close in a tent-like fashion at the top. Place in oven on baking sheet for 12 minutes.

Served with potatoes and spinach - very good..

2 – Remove from oven and open carefully. Lay fish on a plate and pour the juices onto the fish and whatever else you are serving with this.

I served our fish with fried baby red and white potatoes and fresh spinach quickly sautéed in extra virgin olive oil and a sprinkle of cayenne pepper flakes.

2 responses to “Trout with cilantro & Jalapeno Pepper Baked in Foil (serves 4)

  1. Sensational combo of ingriedients. Make you own adjusments as to amounts used with regards to size trout. I prefer to fillet 2 to 3 pound Rainbows I catch here in the Sierras. 5 stars for this one!

  2. tesskitchen1

    Thank you Craig. l’d love to fish in the Sierras. Tess

Leave a Reply

