Shin-Beef cooked in Red Wine (serves 4-6)

You have to give this recipe a try..

My son asked me to make beef stew and that was the plan. However, when I got to the supermarket I spotted Shin Beef and thought I would still make a stew but add more depth by using red wine and a strong herb. Shin beef is a very rich cut of meat with lots of gelatinous fatty striations. Nothing to be afraid of, but I think people in general are more use to eating nice “clean’ cuts of meat? It needs time to cook so if you are going to try this get it into the oven as soon as possible. The flavors are out of this world and won’t disappoint!

Prep all vegetables before you start cooking..

You will Need: 3 1/2 lbs cross-cut shin beef shanks, 1 sweet onion, diced, 3 carrots, thickly sliced, 2 celery ribs, sliced, 1 sprig fresh rosemary, left whole, 1/2 cup fresh flat-leaf parsley, roughly chopped, 2 tbs flour, 1 cup red wine, 3 cups water, 1 vegetable or chicken bouillon cube, 3 tbs olive oil, coarse salt and freshly ground black pepper for seasoning.

preheat oven 375*

This is what Shin Beef looks like (for those of you who don't know) - It has a bone with marrow which turns into a lovely delicacy..

1 – Put beef on a plate and season with salt and pepper. Using a big saute pan or heavy casserole sear the meat in a single lay on high heat in the olive oil (I was able to do this in 1 step but if your pan or casserole has a small surface area it may take 2 batches).

sear the beef until brown..

Don’t crowd the pan as meat will not brown. Take meat off and set aside.

 

saute all vegetables for 10 minutes..

2 – Turn heat down to low/medium and add all prepped vegetables to the pan, including the herbs. saute for 10 minutes, stirring often.

Add flour and bouillon cube and then the liquids..

3 – Add the flour and bouillon cube (I always chop up the cube before adding to things as it dissolves faster) and give everything a stir for 1 minute. Add the wine and water and bring everything to a boil.

Add the meat and place in oven for 2 hours..

4 – Put meat back into liquid and cover. Place in oven for 2 hours.

Dinner

Test meat by taking a fork and pulling the meat. It should pull away very easily. Let everything sit for about 10 minutes before serving with rice, pasta, boiled potatoes or a salad.

Note: The lovely bone marrow can be scooped out and spread on toast points for an appetizer or remove the bone before serving and save it, and the marrow for a snack later, (will post something about that tomorrow).

3 responses to “Shin-Beef cooked in Red Wine (serves 4-6)

  1. SCARY. The whole shin beef / marrow combination worries me. Especially the marrow!
    I think the only way I could be convinced to try it would be if I were with you, and had consumed several glasses of something strong….
    My beloved husband could not do it under any circumstances……
    What does this mean about us?

  2. Well Martha – what can I say? I have noticed that the two times I have made Shin Beef this year you have commented – I think subconsciously you are attracted to this meat? What does it say about you and your husband? You are a very delicate couple.
    I am absolutely going to cook this for you – Tess x

  3. I’ve made this…. nothing to fear ,unless of course, you are afraid of liking it…a lot! Great dinner!

Leave a Reply

