Pork with Penne and Vodka Cream (serves 4)

Last night was Friday night and I am usually so happy that it is the week-end and there is no pressure for a couple of days. I was still happy about it being Friday but, the week did drag a little, and, it’s been raining on and off and I am sick of the “brrrr” feeling in my bones! Where is spring? Also, today I am off with my kids to a birthday party where there is not 1 birthday celebration, but 4! I am looking forward to it but it will be one of those days I can predict I am going to come home, grunt at my husband (something about him getting the kids off to bed) and am then going to b-line it for the comfort of my soft sheets and sleep until late (you know, past 9 am!).

Making dinner....

But, this blog is about what I cooked for dinner, so on that point I have no complaints. The food part of my life is so enjoyable. I always know that no matter what happens during the day that around 6pm I can stand in my kitchen, have a glass of wine and make something as wonderful as I can for dinner. I am so lucky that I get to do this almost every night, and, now that I have starting to write down what I have cooked I get to prolong the enjoyment!

I must be in some Italian day-dream at the moment. Tonight it was pasta again. It was lightning fast to prepare and I got big hugs of appreciation from the biggest to the smallest. You never know, maybe when I come home tonight the only way for me to relax will  be to make a little late night supper for me and my man…

******************************************************

You will need: 1 sweet onion, diced,  3 garlic cloves, finely chopped, 1 tbs unsalted butter, 1 tbs extra virgin olive oil, 1 lb pork tenderloin, sliced and cut into chunks, 1 cup frozen baby peas, 1/2 cup plus 2 tbs flat-leaf parsley, chopped, 1/4 cup vodka, 1/3 cup heavy cream, coarse sea salt and freshly ground pepper, Parmigiano Reggiano (optional), 3/4 lb penne pasta (I use Barilla brand)

Add parsley and pork and cook for 10 minutes..

1 – Put big saute pan (big enough to hold the entire finished dish) on medium heat and add oil and butter. When melted add onions and garlic and saute for 3 minutes. Turn up the heat and add the pork and  1/2 parsley. Season pork with salt and pepper while in pan. saute for 10 minutes.

2 – Put pot of water on for pasta. when it boils add salt and cook pasta according to instructions. reserve 1/2 cup of pasta water before draining.

Add peas..

3 – After pork has cooked for 10 minutes add peas and continue to cook for another 3 minutes before adding the vodka. Cook until the vodka has almost evaporated. Add cream, turn heat down to lowest setting and stir cream into sauce. Turn heat off and put lid on pan.

Add penne..

4 – When pasta has cooked, toss into pork mixture, along with as much of the reserved pasta water as you like.

saute spinach with oil and pepper flakes for 1 minute..

5 – Put another pan on medium heat and add 1 tbs extra virgin olive oil. When pan is hot add spinach and 1/2 tsp cayenne pepper flakes. Cook for 1 minute and add to pasta dish and stir.

Very Delish..

Serve with extra pepper, pepper flakes, 2 tbs parsley and freshly grated Parmigiano Reggiano.

Leave a Reply

