Sausage & Shrimp Carbonara (serves 4-6)

Dinner.

Back in the Italian mode – or should I say the mode of…. I was in possession of 3 lamb sausages and about a pound of shrimp and did not want to go out shopping for anything else.  At times like this I am grateful that I keep my freezer well stocked.

I had a bunch of fresh flat-leaf parsley and that herb always reminds me of Italian food (probably because it’s called Italian Flat-leaf parsley!). My sister-in-law who lives next door is renovating her kitchen and so they were not cooking. She gave me a dozen eggs that were in danger of expiring which made a grand total of 26 eggs in my fridge? Seeing the eggs and parsley I though about Carbonara sauce, and, lucky for me I had a box of linguine – dinner was decided! I love sausage and shrimp together so I just sautéed then with a little bacon and tossed in the pasta and in a flash had one of the best dinners to date. The eggs and cream magically made a silky smooth sauce and the strong flavor of the sausage was a perfect companion. Whoever invented the quick cooking of eggs yolks in hot pasta was a genius. The miniscule amount we had left-over was fried in a little olive oil for my breakfast and topped with a poached egg – heaven!

You will need: 1 lb shrimp, 1 lb seasoned lamb sausage, 1/2 cup chopped fresh parsley, 1 tbs lemon zest, 4 egg yolks, 1/2 cup heavy whipping cream, 6 pieces bacon stripes, freshly grated Parmigiano Reggiano, extra virgin olive oil, freshly ground black pepper, 1 lb linguine pasta (I used Barilla brand)

Prep Everything..

1 – Prep everything: Slice bacon into 3/4″ stripes, separate egg yolks and put yolks in bowl, along with the cream and mix together. Grate lemon zest. Take sausage out of casings and slice into 1/2′ pieces. De-shell shrimp and slice in half lengthways. Chop parsley.

2 – Put big pot of water on for pasta to boil.

3 – I big saute pan on medium/low heat add bacon and fry for about 5 minutes (until it starts to release fat and turn pink). Add sliced sausage and continue to saute until sausages are cooked (about 8 minutes). remove meat with a slotted spoon to bowl and discard bacon and sausage fat.

4 – When pasta water is boiling add 1 tsp of salt and cook pasta according to instructions (generally linguine cooks in about 9 minutes).

5 – When pasta has 5 minutes left to cook put saute pan back on stove-top on medium/high heat and add 1 tbs extra virgin olive oil. When pan is hot add shrimp and season with a few grinds of black pepper. Cook for about 2 minutes and add the parsley, bacon and sausage and stir.

6 – At this point the pasta will be ready to drain. Before draining scoop out about 1 cup of water. Drain pasta and add immediately to pan with shrimp and sausage. Directly after the pasta goes in, scrap in the egg yolk mixture and stir quickly until it is completely incorporated (the heat of the pasta, pan and sauces will gently cook the eggs and make a creamy sauce). If the sauce seems thick, loosen with some pasta water. Serve as soon as you can with a few more parsley leaves and freshly grated cheese.

Grated Parmigiano Cheese makes this dish soar!

3 responses to “Sausage & Shrimp Carbonara (serves 4-6)

  1. Tess,
    This looks so good I want to jump right into the photo. I always worry about using cream, especially heavy cream, in my food. The calories, you know, are not slight. I suppose using a little goes a long way toward the richness you seek. Have you ever used fat-free half and half to get the same creamy effects? Or real half and half, for that matter?

    • I only used a 1/2 cup of cream for the entire dish for six people – nothing to feel too guilty about! I suppose if one is on a diet to loose weight this whole dish would be off the menu. I have this philosophy about food – if you eat the right portions of food at meal times and you don’t indulge in food in-between meals I don’t see how you can go wrong. I am no nutritionist but I think all of us can do a better job of caring what we put into our bodies. have never tried substituting cream or butter for anything lighter – I’m probably going to hell!
      Tess x

  2. Thats it…..That looks quare an’ yummy lad !!

Leave a Reply

