South of the Border Shrimp & Sausage (serves 4)

 

Fresh tasting dinner..

My husband came up with the name. Since starting this blog I have to come up with titles for my dinners. Each evening while we are eating I ask “what should this be?” I always struggle with this because I want to list all the ingredients, like………chicken with onions, thyme, garlic, carrots, & white wine – or in tonight’s case, shrimp and polish sausage with sweet onions, lime juice, cherry tomatoes in broth and, a chipotle pepper – much too complicated! While eating, my husband  said it tasted sort of Mexican. I told him I used a little chipotle pepper, lime juice and cilantro and then, his response made sense to me. I feel sort of silly calling it this or, calling something “Chinese chicken” or “Oriental Pie”  since I have never even been to the places I am referring to. I go ahead and just presume I know the food because I read cookbooks and try to eat in ethnic restaurants in big cities? Anyway, I think when you give a recipe a title it either draws you in or repels you. I hate a title for a dish to be so subjective as to put someone off from trying something, and now,  here I go and suggest, because my food is somewhat spicy it hails from Mexico! I am quite sure that no such dish has ever been cooked there but I am leaving the title and hoping that everyone gets the general point of the name? The food was good and I had no complaints, save for a little one from my daughter who found it to be a little spicy. I only took the liberty of using 1 tiny chipotle pepper and, it just so happened it was a hot one! You can never tell if a pepper is hot or mild just by looking at it. You have to taste it. I always think twice before adding something hot in consideration for those palates who have a hard time handling the heat.  I usually touch the pepper to my tongue but tonight I took a chance. It was just one measly pepper – how hot could it be? Lesson learned.

You will need: 1 lb shrimp (31-40 count per lb size), 1/2 lb Polish sausage, 6 scallions (green onions), 1 medium sweet onion,  1 dry pint cherry tomatoes, 2 cloves garlic, juice of 1 lime, 4 tbs chopped cilantro, 1 chipotle pepper,  2 1/2 cups chicken broth, 4 tbs extra virgin olive oil, salt and freshly ground black pepper for seasoning, 2 cups uncooked Basmati rice.

Prep Everything..

Prep everything: Dice onions, slice scallions, finely chop garlic, take sausage out of casing and slice into 1/4″ chunks, take shells from shrimp and slice entirely up the middle into 2 pieces, squeeze lime, chop cilantro and put rice on to cook – cook according to instructions if using a pot or, use a rice cooker. Put big saute pan on medium heat and add 2 tbs of oil. Let the oil warm up, season shrimp with a sprinkle of kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper and cook on pan for no more than 3 1/2 minutes.

Set shrimp aside until the end..

Transfer to bowl and set aside. Add the rest of the oil and add the scallions and onion and saute for 3 minutes. Add the garlic and sausage and cook for about 4 to 5 minutes.

saute scallion and onion..

Add cherry tomatoes and chipotle pepper and cook for another 2 minutes before adding the broth.

add sausage, then tomatoes and chipotle pepper..

Let it come to a simmer and cook for another 3 minutes. Add the cilantro and lime juice,  stir and cook for 1 minuter further.

Add broth, cilantro and lime juice..

Turn off heat and add the shrimp. Taste and season if necessary. Add rice (about 5 cups of cooked rice) and serve immediately.

Serve plain, or with cilantro and sour cream (and a little hot sauce if you like)

Serve plain with a sprinkle of cilantro or with a dollop of sour cream and hot sauce.

Leave a Reply

