Egg and Bacon Sandwich Dinner (serves 1, but keep making for more)

Now why would I give a recipe for an Egg & Bacon sandwich?? Well it gives me a change to talk about some quickie foods.

This is even made with crappy bread - still good!

Sometimes, like many of you I just don’t feel like being in the kitchen for too long preparing dinner. (Or, as was the case tonight, I got home so late I was left to fend for myself).  Admittedly this does not happen very often  and I think it is becoming clear that hanging out in my crappy kitchen is a pass-time not a responsibility. There are nights however when I announce to everyone “not cooking dinner tonight!” The problem after that big blurting out is that then I begin to think of how to satisfy my appetite for dinner? I think about possibly going out, but, the idea of having to sit in some very mediocre restaurant AND paying for the pleasure makes me step away from the door. Yes, we are picky about food and that comes from the plain and simple fact that we eat freshly prepared food most evenings. The other reason I shun the door handle is because I live in a town with not much to offer beyond pizza and burgers! Just because I don’t want to cook shouldn’t mean I have to settle for junky food? If I lived in a culinary mecca like New York City I might never cook at all!  So, I’m sort of stuck on the nights when I’m not feeling the urge to cook and, I refuse to go out, or order in? Ah ha – that’s where this good old sandwich comes to the rescue. If you keep things in the house like good bread in the freezer (the place I buy bread is a little away so I buy 4 or 5 loaves at a time and stash in the freezer for moments like these), bacon, eggs, cheese, greens, and condiments – you are in luck. It’s not really cooking but it is oh so satisfying. After all my going on about bread I discovered tonight that all I had left was some real “plastic bread” which I use for meat loaf and other odd things so, I had to settle a bit! I still loved my sandwich better than anything else I could have prepared in 10 minutes or less!

You will need these for 1 such sandwich: 2 pieces of good bread ( or in my case  – crappy bread!), 1 egg, slices of cheese (cheddar, Stilton, Parmigiano Reggiano, whatever you have), lettuce (romaine, butter, a mixture of a couple of kinds), 2 or 3 tomato slices depending on the size (optional), 3 bacon slices or ham, strong mustard, hot sauce (optional), salt & freshly ground pepper. Other possible ingredients include: sliced Haas avocado, black or green olives, roasted peppers……..

Put everything you want in your sandwich on the counter-top.

get in on

Immediately put the bacon on to cook, and when cooked leave on paper towel. Note: If I am cooking bacon during the week for any reason I always cook more than I need and keep it in the fridge for moments like these. If you are making more than 1 take out a couple of plates and pile each component onto it. Slice cheese, wash and dry greens (some spicy greens like arugula and endive are nice to mix in with the lettuce), slice tomatoes. When you are all set to assemble put a small frying pan on medium heat. When it is has warmed up, add a little oil or butter and give it a minute to warm before cracking your egg into pan. The moment the egg is on, press down the bread in the toaster. When you flip egg, put the cheese on top and slide pan off of heat while you prep the bread. Butter the bread if you like (I don’t sometimes). Slather some mustard (I use Coleman’s) on one side of the bread and place greens on top. Add bacon, then tomatoes, season with salt and pepper according to your taste (and hot sauce?) and top with the egg and cheese.  Press other slice of bread gently on top. Eat!


2 responses to “Egg and Bacon Sandwich Dinner (serves 1, but keep making for more)

  1. As Eileen Nechas promised, these are great recipes, but what really wows me is the photography. How do you get the food so not-brown? Best, Bathsheba

  2. Hello Bathsheba – I use a Nikon D50 camera which takes great pictures. I fiddled with the lights in my kitchen to find a light that had not much glare and so when I take pictures I turn off a particular light each time I shoot a picture. I don’t think about it too much and seem to have come up with the right angle to get the best image. I assure you, besides my eye, my technical abilities are minimal! Cheers, Tess x

Leave a Reply

