Scalloped Potatoes in Broth (serves 6 as side-dish)

brothy scalloped potatoes

When I want to serve potatoes in an interesting way sometimes I choose scalloped potatoes. They go great with any meal. I am offering up this recipe tonight in place of my usual dinner blog. My work kept me away from home until late tonight and so my family had to fend for themselves! I found out that they survived quite nicely on burgers made by my husband (with a little help from me over the phone of course!) So, dinner did get cooked, but not by me. If a camera had been used and a rough idea of what was eaten was reported to me I could have written about the event. Alas, no pictures were taken and the only comment on the burgers was the suggestion that they were better than mine! I made these scalloped potatoes a few weeks ago while hanging out in the kitchen waiting for dinner to cook (might sound a little mad, I know?) and we ate them when we wanted to nibble on something. I love this dish because it is light and is great for the days when you don’t feel like anything creamy.

You will need: 3 lbs yellow potatoes, 3 medium onions, 1/2 lb bacon, 1 cup white wine, 1 1/2 cup chicken broth, 1 tbs unsalted butter, 1 tbs olive oil, kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper.

Pre heat oven 375*

On low to medium heat chop bacon and place in pan and cook for about 5 minutes before adding diced onions.

Saute bacon and onions until very soft..

When the onions are starting to get soft (about 5 minutes) turn heat down to lowest setting, cover and continue to cook fo a further 15 minutes until beginning to brown. Wash potatoes and slice into 1/8″ rounds (if cutting by hand don’t worry if they are a little thicker – the trick to stay as consistent as you can). Rinse potatoes after cutting (removes some of the starch which can make the dish sticky) and transfer to a pot. Barely cover with cold water and place on high heat. When water comes to a boil, time for 3 to 4 minutes. Drain into colander and set aside until time to assemble. When bacon, onions and potatoes are done you are ready to assemble: Butter a casserole dish. and add a layer of potatoes overlapping slightly, and very lightly season with black pepper. Be careful about adding salt as the bacon will probably give enough salt to the dish…

start with a layer of potatoes in bottom of casserole

Add a layer of onions and bacon and then another layer of potatoes. Continue like this, ending with a layer of potatoes. Mix the liquids together in a jug/pitcher and pour carefully over potatoes. Press the potatoes down firmly into the broth with your hands.  Season with black pepper and cover with foil. Place in oven and cook for 30 minute. Take out of oven, remove foil and cook for a further 10 to 15 minutes until potatoes are very soft (test with knife).

this is great with a simple fried egg!

If you want the top to be a little more crispy looking, broil for 1 to 2 minutes. Set aside to cool for 5 minutes before serving.

2 responses to “Scalloped Potatoes in Broth (serves 6 as side-dish)

  1. Tess,
    I am loving your blog and read it every day. I want to make EVERYTHING you’ve made and will do at least some of them, I promise. I also noticed your cupboard photos and it looks like all your dishes and mugs are hand made? . Eileen

  2. Thank you so much Eileen! The pottery is all wood-fired and made by some of my talented friends. I will credit them on my blog from now on so you can look them up.
    Tess x

Leave a Reply

