Shrimp & Salmon with Curried Rice (serves 4)

This was an easy dinner, and that is how I planned it since I was home late and we had tickets to a dance performance within the hour! Why do I bother? To me it is still a hassle to tackle something instant that is less satisfying. Also I don’t live in a town with a lot of choices (no choices besides pizza in fact!) and so cooking is still easier for me. I had one little disaster however…..since I started this blog I have to photograph everything and last night I was rushing a bit and had the camera over my shoulder. I usually leave it on a shelf or counter. Well….as I grabbed a plate from a high shelf the camera swung from my shoulder knocking my arm into 4 beautiful bowls, which went crashing to the ground, barely missing my head but managing to break a plate sitting on the counter on it’s way down – such a clatter of dishes! Some days this might have made me mad last night for some reason I was unphased. The only annoying thing was that bits of ceramic had managed to find their way into my glass of prosecco sitting on the counter and I had to dump it out – what a waste of good liquid!

crash!

hazards of photography!

You will need: 2 6 oz salmon fillets, 1 lb shrimp (31-40 count per lb), 2 cloves garlic, 1 medium onion, 3 heads baby bok choy, 2 cups raw basmati rice, 1 tbs curry powder, 3 1/2 cups chicken broth, 3 tbs heavy cream, 2 tb unsalted butter, kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper.

Prep everything: dice onion and finely chop garlic, dice white parts of baby bok choy and leave leaves whole, shell and devein shrimp and slice down the middle into two pieces. Rinse salmon and cut each 6 oz piece into six chunks. Put big saute pan on medium heat and add butter.

saute onion, garlic and then add bok choy..

When melted, add garlic and onion and saute for 4 minutes. Add baby bok choy and saute for a further 3 minutes. Stir in curry powder and after 1 to 2 minutes add raw rice and saute with vegetables for 2 minutes.

add curry powder and rice..

Add stock and let the liquid come to a simmer. When it is simmering, turn down heat and cover. Cook until rice is tender (about 15 to 20 minutes) Check rice by tasting.

add broth and cook until rice is tender

Add the fish and shrimp, cover and cook for a further 5 minutes. Turn off heat and gently stir in the cream.

Add fish and shrimp and cook for 5 minutes..

Taste and season with salt and pepper if desired. Also add more broth if you want a more liquid-y consistency.

quick, easy dinner!

Let everything sit for a few minutes before serving. I served this with a dollop of sour cream and a tsp of chile sauce.

One response to “Shrimp & Salmon with Curried Rice (serves 4)

  1. damn girl. that sounds just right! too bad about the dishes….they’re sweet.

Leave a Reply

