Chicken and Sausage with Tagliatelle (serves 4)

 

flavor profile

So tonight’s dinner came together blindly,  not for any other reason than the ingredients cooperated. A friend was coming over and I thought about what the end result would be more than on a normal night, which is funny because dinner didn’t taste any better or worse than usual. Yesterday I had been at my most favorite supermarket and I decided to buy some herbs. I HATE buying little teeny bunches of herbs out of season (here that is) for silly amounts of money, however I am addicted to fresh herbs. I grow them in my garden in the spring and have a nice crop until early November, and then, it all dies. It is like taking away my life line, my trick that makes everything taste good. I looked at the neat little row of herbs, all packaged and labeled so prettily and knew I could only afford to buy about two kinds and also knew that buying any more than that would be wasteful as you can only store these things in the fridge for so long…I settled on tarragon and oregano and I built tonight’s dish around one of them. The flavor of the herb has so much to do with what I decide to put together. Get to know your herbs and it can help you a great deal in your culinary efforts or adventures! I chose tarragon here because it has a fantastic liquorice flavor, a perfect compliment to the sausage and chicken.

You will need: 3 boneless skinless chicken breasts, 4 mild Italian Sausages, 6 scallions Chopped, 4 yellow squash sliced down the entire center until you have two halves, 3 inner celery stalks with leaves in tact chopped finely, 3 cloves garlic chopped finely, 3 sprigs tarragon leaves chopped finely, 1 head romaine lettuce chopped, 1/2 cup white wine, 2 cups water, 1 vegetable bouillon cube (or 1/2 of one if it is big) chopped, olive oil for frying.

Preheat oven to 425* for squash. When oven is preheated put baking sheet in oven with 2 tbs olive oil.  Toss squash with some olive oil and salt in big bowl.

slice down the center

After 3 minutes take out the sheet and add the prepared squash (flesh side down) to pan in single layer and roast for 7 minutes. Turn over and roast for a further 5  minutes in which time the squash should take on a golden color. Remove

saute sausage

from heat and keep warm on plate until ready to serve. While squash is cooking season chicken with kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper and sear on high heat in big saute pan (12′) for 2 minutes on each side. Remove to plate and set aside. Turn heat down to medium, take sausage out of casing and pinch of

saute garlic, celery, tarragon, scallions

1/2″ inch pieces and fry all pieces on pan for about 7 minutes.  Remove from pan and set aside. While sausage is cooking slice scallions (including green bits), chop garlic finely, chop celery into thin pieces including leaves. Remove sausage and saute the prepared vegetables in remaining oil for about 5  minutes.

My choice for bouillon

Chop tarragon leaves and bouillon cube (I only used half of my bouillon cube) and add to pan. Stir into vegetables and let cook for about 1 minute before adding the wine. Let it cook for about 1 minute. Add the water and when it comes to a simmer place the chicken back on the pan, turn down heat, cover and simmer for about 6 or 7 minutes. (At this point put pot of water on high heat for tagliatelle).  Add sausage and let it cook on low for a further 4 minutes. When the chicken is cooked transfer chicken to a board. Slice it and return to pan. Add chopped romaine and put lid back on pan and let greens wilt for 5 minutes. Turn off pan. When pasta water is boiling, cook according to instructions.

Add romaine

Drain pasta and put cooked pasta into shallow bowls  and top with chicken and sausage AND 2 pieces of squash. Garnish with some chopped tarragon

dinner..

leaves and serve with Parmigiano Reggiano and some good bread if you have it. I have to say, this was a really good dinner and I recommend giving it a try

Another good Dinner..

3 responses to “Chicken and Sausage with Tagliatelle (serves 4)

  1. This one looks very good. Putting the romaine in to wilt is intriguing, and makes me want to try it.

  2. Yes, the romaine stays crunchy which I love. I just revised some of my writing from last night (some method stuff) as it appeared to be written by a slightly bleary-eyed person, so be sure to cook from the blog (not your email)!
    Tess x

  3. Pingback: Blood Type A “Diet Experiment” Update AND A STRONG Word About “Diets” !! | Crappy Kitchen - Good Dinners!

Leave a Reply

