Fried Trout with Mushrooms (serves 4)

the ingredients..

Wow! This was by far my favorite dinner. The fish was so fresh I was dying of pleasure with every bite. I went to my favorite supermarket today to buy things like, fresh fish and to stock up on various meats, cheese and bread. I only go once every two weeks so it is an enormous treat for me to meander the aisles. It is also frustrating because I want to buy absolutely everything and, that is not possible…..so I have to (as the keeper of the grail said) “choose wisely”  Today I choose 4 fresh Rainbow Trout. They were still gleaming! I didn’t want to shroud them in fancy sauces and finicky accompaniments so I cooked straight from the hip. I bought some great bread and fresh oregano and knew this is all I would need to satisfy my soul.

You will need: 4 rainbow trout, 1 lb mushrooms (I used a mixture of shiitake & baby bellas), 4 tbs butter (yep, 4 – but it is good and of course you can opt not to make this fab. dipping sauce), 2 tbs freshly chopped oregano leaves, 3 big cloves garlic, juice of half a lemon,  vegetable or sunflower oil &, butter for frying, flour for dusting, 1 loaf of crusty white bread (baguette, italian, whatever you have).Kitchen string or butcher twine (for tying fish)

handy item

About buying the Fish: I buy the fish dressed (belly slit, guts removed) with back bone in tact and head on. It is cheaper (by far) and you can use the heads for other dishes.

Method: Slice bread, place in tin foil and set aside. Finely chop garlic, oregano (if you are taking the leaves off a stem reserve the stem to toss in with the

saute mushrooms & garlic with oregano stem

mushrooms to enhance flavor), and mushrooms. Place 12″ saute pan on medium (or two smaller pans OR 1 pan if only cooking for two, in which case 1/2 the

stuff fish with these..

ingredients) heat and add 1 tbs butter & 1 tbs oil. Add mushrooms and garlic and cook for 5 minutes. While mushrooms are cooking take the heads off the trout

tie it up!

(reserve in plastic bag in freezer for another use – I will let you know later) and wash and dry fish. Place fish on board and open up. Lightly season the flesh with salt and freshly ground pepper. When the mushrooms & garlic are ready divide the mixture and spread equal parts down the middle of the fish. Top the mushrooms with chopped oregano leaves.  Close fish up and secure with kitchen

6 minutes later

string. Preheat over to 350* and place bread in oven to warm. Turn pan to medium heat and add 2 tbs oil and let it get hot. Place the fish carefully on pan (cook 2 at a time if your pan is smaller than 12″) and cook for about 3 minutes – Do Not Touch Fish While It Is Cooking. Turn fish carefully and repeat the process. When done, take fish off pan and put on plate. Turn pan down to low

browned lemon butter

and add 4 tbs butter. Cook until butter just begins to brown, add the lemon juice and stir very well. It will slightly thicken. Warm a little bowl in the oven, as well as 4 dinner plates. Put a fish on each pale, along with some bread and spoon some of the lemon butter sauce over the bread and the fish. Pour the rest of the

Trout & Bread

sauce into the little  bowl and leave on the table for further bread dipping. You will need napkins for greasy, juicy hands! By all means, make something green with this dish. I didn’t, and don’t feel one shred of guilt..

I was keeping the fish heads until Daisy-Dude (above) got hold of them. No fish stock in my future..

One response to “Fried Trout with Mushrooms (serves 4)

  1. Right, Time to stop messin around and cook some of my Sisters deadly recipes

Leave a Reply

